Daybook Entry – 15th July


daybook button

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FOR TODAY

Outside my window… Ethan is playing football in the street with his cousin Will, Kevin is cleaning the outside of the caravan ready for our holiday in a couple of weeks, the air is finally cooling down after another scorcher of a day and I can see a magpie eating the fence at the back of my garden. I kid you not….!

I am thinking… about my daughter who will be going on deployment tomorrow for a fortnight with the Navy.

I am thankful… I had chance to give her a huge mummy-hug this evening before she goes.

In the kitchen… we had lasagne and salad for tea followed by trifle. Nice.

I am wearing… blue shorts and a t-shirt. It’s too hot for much else.

I am creating… a crocheted “minion” from Dispicable Me. Bananananaaaaaaaa!!!

I am going… to go outside onto my deck in a minute and read my book with a nice chilled glass of wine.

I am wondering… if this weather will hold for our holiday in a couple of weeks.

I am reading… “Blue Monday” by Nicci French. It has taken me ages to get into it and now I’ve stuck with it for about 65% of the way through I’m keen to get it finished.

I am hoping… my Dad can fix my central heating for me. We have the problem that when we put the heating on to heat the water the radiators all come on full blast. That’s ALL the radiators at FULL BLAST and the weather outside has been tipping the high 20s this week. Sheesh….

I am praying for… people who are between diagnosis and treatment for cancer; family, friends and loved ones of service personnel who are out there putting their lives on the line for our safety and freedom.

I am looking forward to… going away in my caravan.

I am learning… to relax and just let things happen.

Around the house… we had a family “picnic” in the garden on Saturday night (not a barbecue as things are a bit tense round here at the minute and nobody was in a party mood, so we called it a picnic) and Emma helped me get ready. She’s a little treasure, she really is – she not only helped me prepare the food and salads etc but she tidied up the living room and did some cleaning to help me out too. I’m so grateful to her for many things, but that little bit of help on Saturday was a Godsend.

I am pondering… which campsites to book for our holiday.

A favourite quote for today:

St Swithun’s day if thou dost rain

For forty days it will remain

St Swithun’s day if thou be fair

For forty days ’twill rain nae mare

It is St Swithin’s day today and this is the rhyme associated with it here in weather-obsessed Great Britain. (St Swithin was a bishop who, when he died, insisted that his bones be buried outside the cathedral so that “the rain could wash them clean”. The next bishop along decided that he couldn’t remain in the ground out there and wanted to move the remains inside the cathedral as befitting to a man of his station. But, when they opened the grave, it began to rain and continued to do so for 40 days thereafter. It is now said that if it rains on St Swithin’s Day (sometimes spelled “Swithun’s”) then it would be a poor summer and would rain for the next 40 days).

One of my favourite things… is sitting in my garden reading my book in the summer evening.

A few plans for the rest of the week: study group tomorrow night, band Friday, not much else really.

A peek into my day…
stay and play teddy bears picnic

It was our last day at Stay and Play for the summer. We always finish our sessions with a sing-song and as the weather was so nice today we sang outside on the lawn. We had a teddy bear’s picnic too, hence all the teddies in this picture. I think they had as much fun as the children did!

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daybook Entry – 15th July

  1. dderbydave says:

    I love these little insights into your life. Ts very voyeuristic of me but they paint snapshots of your life. Thanks again.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      You’re welcome Dave! These daybook entries help me focus when things seem to be slipping out of control. There’s been a lot going on recently and it helps to get things set out like this. I’m glad they’re interesting to read too 😀

      Like

  2. Your heating problem sounds unpleasant! It is currently over 30 C where I am so just the thought of adding extra heat is terrible!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

