Royal Hodgepodge


Welcome to this week’s edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge! So glad you joined the fun today…click the button below to follow Joyce’s instructions, add your link at the end of her post and let’s get this party started!

1. July 24th is Amelia Earhart Day.  Earhart was the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean.  What’s something you’ve recently accomplished solo?

We are experimenting and pushing our experience of using audio-visual material in our Sunday services at church, and it’s something I’m really enjoying learning about and operating. Usually I have my husband Kevin as backup (because a) he’s a man and let’s face it, they understand cables and leads and all that malarkey and b) he’s a network manager for his job and he understands cables and leads and all that malarkey….) but this weekend he was working and wasn’t with me. I managed to not only load everything up properly but managed to get it all connected up correctly AND I managed to handle the feedback problem we have with our existing hearing loop in the building all by myself. Woop!

2. What’s a product you use that never ever fails? 

Nivea moisturiser on my face. I always used to use Johnson’s Baby Moisturiser but they “improved” the formula a couple of years ago and it gave me a rash, so I switched to Nivea. I have very sensitive skin and can’t use quite a lot of products out there so I count myself fortunate that I found one that works for me and is still quite inexpensive.

3. Have you found your place in this world?  Where is it?

This is a deep and meaningful question! Hmmm…. I’d like to think so (I’m 42 and have already got one of my kids flown from the nest) but in all honesty I don’t think I have. I still feel like I did when I was a teenager and was asked that question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”. My answer then was “Ummm……” and my answer now is still “Ummmm……!!”.

I do have *a* place in the world, but whether it’s mine and mine alone I seriously doubt it. I think that absolutely anyone else could take my place and nobody would notice the difference, except my family. Anything outside the family that I do can be done by anyone else and I don’t consider myself unique in any way at all.

4. Worst movie you ever saw?

I’m not a great movie viewer so when I watch one I tend to seek out the ones that I am certain I will enjoy. However, I do have two children….oh boy, the rubbish that seems to be churned out in the name of children’s “entertainment”!

5. What’s the last fun thing you did?

This question makes me sad because it made me realise that fun is seriously lacking in Pamsterland at the moment!! I did have fun with the little ones last Monday when we had our Teddy Bear’s Picnic at the end of Stay and Play. We have closed for the summer so we had a party for the children at church and we asked them to invite their teddies along too. We had a sing-song out on the lawn and had some food inside to finish with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6. The month of July is named for Roman emperor Julius Caesar…ever been to Rome?  What’s your favourite Italian dish?

Nope, never been to Rome but it’s on my “hit-list” for the future. My favourite Italian dish without a doubt is Tiramisu. In fact, it’s my favourite sweet full-stop!

7. What is one piece of advice you’d give new mother Kate Middleton?

I have a lot of advice to give, but my top piece would be to rest when the baby does and don’t let visitors and guests get in the way of that, especially in the early weeks. Later on I would advise her to just be calm and don’t panic about things. Whatever Kate and William do as parents it will be the best for THEIR baby, and to try to conform to what others have done in the past or what is the “on-trend” thing to do would be wrong if it doesn’t suit THEIR baby.

8.  Insert your own random thought here

What’s happened to British sport?? Since Sir Bradley Wiggins won the Tour de France last summer we have been on a very wide winning streak as a nation. It’s unheard of! We had an incredibly successful Olympics, Andy Murray went on to win TWO grand slams, the cricket team are dominating the Ashes series this year, we’ve had another win in the Tour de France…. It’s as if Wiggo has given us permission as a nation to get rid of that “no, after you” polite mentality that is part of the British psyche and we have woken up to the fact that not only do we have the SKILLS to win, we have the RIGHT to win too. It’s fabulous!!

Chris-Froome

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Royal Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. Wow.. I’m impressed with what you could do in your answer to #1!! If you want to hear something funny, I should be embarrassed to say it, but… I purchased a portable dvd player, and read the directions (o.k… skimmed them, more likely).. And it all just looked too complicated to get set up and started, so I waited for Dear Son-In-Law to come over to help me with it. He took it, looked at it, put a dvd in it, and hit play…. Yup. That’s it!!! Just hit play!.. I really impressed everyone with my vast intelligence right THERE, now didn’t I?!!!! (sigh)…… Anyways.. your church sounds like fun, with what equipment and then the teddy bear event!.. I don’t think I’ve ever HAD Tiramisu! I’ll have to put it on my bucket list! (0; Have a great week! ~tina

    Like

  2. I think I feel exactly the way you do about having your place. I think I should by now but don’t feel like I really do. I’m a 49 year old who still doesn’t know what she wants to do when she grows up!

    Like

  3. What’s happening in British sport? We’re actually hearing about the things we’re successful in. I have found it so frustrating for years that all the media coverage is on a minority of sports and not promoting the vast array of sports our athletes compete and have success in!

    The other weekend several of our junior gymnasts won Gold medals at the European Youth Olympics and they are the future for Rio 2016.

    And YUM – tiramusu!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

