Daybook Entry – 1st September


With the first day of September comes a new promise to myself that I give my head a wobble and devote more time to my blog. I have lost my way a little bit recently and as the 1st September represents the start of a new season and a return to school with a new slate etc, I am taking this chance to recommit to my writing and my blogging. Thank you for bearing with me during the wilderness weeks.

daybook button

FOR TODAY
Outside my window… dusk is falling.

I am thinking… about how precious life is.

I am thankful… for so much it’s difficult to know where to start.

In the kitchen… separate meals today. I’m not hungry, Kevin was hungry before Ethan was so they’ve each made their own meal at different times.

I am wearing… comfies.

I am creating… minions. Lots and lots of minions. My own pattern too.

I am going… to take Ethan to buy his school shoes tomorrow. Watch out bank… And P&O…

I am wondering… whether to inflict the X Factor on the boys again tonight or whether I should go upstairs and watch it on my own in the bedroom.

I am reading… I’m in between books at the moment. I’ve just finished reading two of Philippa Gregory’s books about “The Cousins War”, which covers the period of medieval England that sees the end of the War of the Roses and the beginning of the Tudor reign. I don’t know whether to read another one of the same ilk or whether to read something completely different. I hate this stage of reading, sigh.

I am hoping… I manage to hold my end up tomorrow night when we do a presentation at church for the diocese. We are aiming to be OLM accredited in the future, which means that we would be authorised to host an Ordained Local Minister as part of our leadership team. In the light of the changes already underway in the Diocese of Manchester with regards to reducing priests and increasing lay ministry, it’s an important step for us if we are to continue as a worship centre in our part of Blackley. As an ALM it is my responsibility alongside the other ALMs to paint our church in as honest a light as possible in terms of our vision and mission etc so that we give a realistic view to the bosses.

I am praying for… Sue and her family; for my cousin Kathryn and Lee ahead of their wedding next week; for Barbara – a proud and upright lady whose life has moved into a closing chapter; the people of Syria.

I am looking forward to… starting my course with the OU in a couple of weeks. Happy happy happy!!

I am learning… that leaving things to the last minute is seriously detrimental to my health.

Around the house… pretty sorted. Unless you look in the spare room.

I am pondering… which book to read next. I might make a start on some background reading for my course.

A favourite quote for today:

Lord, for the years your love has kept and guided,
urged and inspired us, cheered us on our way,
sought us and saved us, pardoned and provided:
Lord for the years, we bring our thanks today.

Lord, for that word, the word of life which fires us,
speaks to our hearts and sets our souls ablaze,
teaches and trains, rebukes us and inspires us:
Lord of the word, receive your people’s praise.

Lord, for our land in this our generation,
spirits oppressed by pleasure, wealth and care:
for young and old, for commonwealth and nation,
Lord of our land, be pleased to hear our prayer.

Lord, for our world where men disown and doubt you,
loveless in strength, and comfortless in pain,
hungry and helpless, lost indeed without you:
Lord of the world, we pray that Christ may reign.

Lord for ourselves; in living power remake us-
self on the cross, and Christ upon the throne,
past put behind us, for the future take us:
Lord of our lives, to live for Christ alone.

One of my favourite things… is being moved to tears by the words of a hymn (as I was by the hymn above this morning).

A few plans for the rest of the week: shopping tomorrow with the boy, presentation in the evening and then nothing until Friday afternoon where I will be going to have lunch with some senior citizens. Oh yes, and a daily blog post!!

A peek into my day… I have been sorting out all my photos on my laptop this afternoon and there are some lovely pictures that I’d forgotten I’d taken. Here’s my son on his first day at high school three years ago. He is now going into Year 10 and has changed an awful lot. He’s still my baby though!!

DSCF1292

 

 

 

 

 

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

3 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 1st September

Add yours

  1. Happy new beginnings! You know that in the Orthodox Church, September 1 is the Ecclesiastical New Year, so the intro to your post seems very fitting. 🙂 praying for you daily.
    -Mary

    Like

    1. Thank you Mary. Yours prayers and thoughts are very much appreciated. I suppose it’s only fitting to wish you a happy new year!

      The Western church celebrates the first Sunday of Advent as our new year, and it’s the time of year that we begin our new liturgy and cycle of readings etc. I’m always keen to learn about how other Christians mark the passing of the year so thank you for letting me know today is your new beginnings.

      Best wishes, Pam

      Like

  2. Such a beautiful picture of your son, Pam! Thanks for sharing. I am looking forward to reading more blogs of yours. I am so happy that we have already pleasantly warm spring weather here in NSW, Australia. Last year Peter and I travelled overseas. We left in September and stayed away for two and a half months. So this is another year. Can’t believe how fast last year’s gone.
    Cheerio, Uta.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

