WWW Wednesday – 4th September 2013


To play along, just click the picture to the side to join with the meme host and answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

Here are my answers:

the constant princessI am currently reading “The Constant Princess” by Philippa Gregory. It’s the story of Catherine of Aragon who was the first wife of Henry VIII. It follows her throughout her very brief marriage to Henry’s older brother and the years afterwards, and offers a fantastic interpretation of her life and what it meant to her to have her hopes and dreams dashed. It’s the third book I’ve read recently about the Tudors and I’m really enjoying learning a bit more about the history of my country.

the white princess

I recently finished “The White Princess”, also by Philippa Gregory. This is the the portion of the story before the book I’m reading at the minute, and is the story of Elizabeth, wife of Henry VII and daughter of the previous monarch, Edward IV. I loved it!

 

 

the mermainds singingNext on my list is going to be something a little different I think. I am absolutely loving learning about the Tudor dynasty in the books of Philippa Gregory but I think three on the trot is probably just about enough for now. I fancy something a little more present-day, possibly with a bit of murder thrown in (not that there wasn’t plenty of murders and executions at the hands of the medieval monarchy!), so I’ve just downloaded “The Mermaids Singing” by Val McDermid. I’ll let you know how I get on with it.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in WWW Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

