The Fisherman’s Dream


man fishingA fisherman once sat in the midday sun, gazing out to sea, watching his little fishing boat riding at anchor, and thinking to himself how good it was to sit in the sun with no worries, watch the waves breaking and enjoy God’s creation.

But his daydream was interrupted when a smartly dressed and rather overweight businessman came up to him and broke into his reverie with a sharp question: “What are you doing lazing around at midday? Why aren’t you out fishing?”

Somewhat taken aback, the fisherman replied, “I’ve done my day’s fishing. I’ve taken my fish to market, and now I’m relaxing in the sun.”

“But why don’t you put out to sea again and catch some more fish?” his questioner insisted.

“Why would I want to do that?” replied the fisherman politely.

“Well, then you would make twice as much money.”

“Why would I want to do that?”

“Well, then you could buy a bigger, better boat, and catch even more fish. You could even employ other people to do the fishing. My word, you could own a whole fleet of fishing boats if you weren’t so lazy.”

“Why would I want to do that?”

“Well, if you owned your own fleet of boats, and employed other people to do the fishing, you would have as much money as you could ever dream of.”

“Why would I want that?”

“Well, then you could spend the rest of your life just doing whatever you wanted to do, sitting in the sun, relaxing and enjoying yourself, with no worries…”

 

 

Source unknown

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Thought For Today and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

