Sunday Stealing – Autumn Meme


I linked up with the Sunday Stealing meme today. Why not give it a go yourself?

 

Fall/Autumn Meme  

 

park benchFirst of all, is autumn your favourite season? Why or why not? 

Autumn absolutely IS my favourite season. I love the colours as nature changes, the smells – bonfires, leaves, fireworks in November – I love the food, the early morning mists and the stunning sunsets. 

Is it ‘autumn’ or ‘fall’, to you?

It’s Autumn.

What kind of weather does your area get during this season? 

We’re currently experiencing an “Indian Summer” but usually we get cool, dry, misty weather here. Later in the season it will get wet and windy.

Were you born in an autumn month? 

Nope, I was born in July. But my daughter was born in September. 

Do you pay attention to any ‘fall fashions’?

I don’t usually pay any attention to fashions at all!

Which leaf colour is your favourite? 

Eek – that’s hard to choose! I love golden colours, but what I really love is the way that all the reds, golds, oranges, greens and browns all meld together to give us such an awesome palette.

Is it still fun to rake the leaves and jump in piles of them? 

Haha YES! My favourite thing is to sweep my feet through piles of leaves in the park. The crunchier the better.

When can you really tell that it’s autumn?

When the early morning mists start appearing.

Do you enjoy carving pumpkins? 

No especially. We used to carve swedes when we were kids as pumpkins were unheard of here until quite recently. I’ve done a few with my own kids but I wouldn’t say it was a favourite autumnal activity.

Do you eat the pumpkin seeds? If so, do you put any kind of flavouring on it?

No. And…gimme that again??

Are you planning to go to a pumpkin patch this year? 

No. We’ll probably pick up a pumpkin from the supermarket if we’re going to get one at all.

Which was your favourite Halloween costume to wear? 

I used to like dressing up as a witch. My hair never needed much doing with it.

Are you planning to go trick-or-treating? Why or why not?

No. It’s not something that’s done very much here and I don’t really like the idea of it.

Are there any county fairs or festivals held nearby during this time?

There are a couple of agricultural shows in this country round this time of the  year and we have had some flower shows too.

What is your favourite dessert for this time of year? 

Apple crumble.

Is your Thanksgiving Day in October or November, if you even celebrate it? 

We don’t do Thanksgiving Day.

If you do celebrate it, where do you usually have Thanksgiving dinner? 

If we had it I think I’d like to have all my family round here at my house.

Do you remember any crafts you used to do that were autumn-themed? 

I used to like leaf printing when I was a kid, and I loved the way the local bakers made wheat-sheaf shaped loaves of bread for our harvest festival at church.

Are any of your favourite bands doing a fall tour this year? 

Not that I now of.

Which new TV show are you looking forward to this season?  

Really excited about “Atlantis” which is due soon. They’ve been trailering it for a couple of weeks now and it looks really good. I’m also REALLY looking forward to Castle coming back – will she say yes and marry him??!?!

How does autumn typically make you feel? 

Excited, fulfilled, rested, sleepy, cosy.

What colour do you always associate with autumn? 

Golden brown.

Is there a song that always reminds you of this season? 

“We Plough The Fields And Scatter” which was one of the harvest hymns we used to sing at school.

Do you have any seasonal traditions?

We usually have a party or some sort of get together for Bonfire Night (5th November in case you’re not from England) and we will have a fire, fireworks, food, and games and we generally have a good time.

Do you spend a lot of time outside during this time of the year? 

Not really. I do enjoy watching the weather though. I love watching rain being lashed against the windows while I’m tucked up warm inside.

How can you tell that fall is over?  

When frosts take over from mists in the mornings.

What is a typical autumn outfit that you wear?

Same as ever! Jeans, t-shirt or polo shirt, hoodie and trainers. If it’s wet I might add a raincoat but other than that, I’m the same all year round really.

Describe a perfect autumn day: 

Wake up at daybreak, see the sun colour the clouds in pinks, golds, reds and oranges and slowly burn up the mist. Go out for an early morning walk in the park kicking up the leaves as I go. Home for a bowl of thick vegetable soup and home-made bread then out again. A nice roast dinner for tea with apple crumble to follow and then sat out in the garden in the evening round a fire with mugs of hot apple cider or hot chocolate and marshmallows.

Do you hate it when stores start promoting Christmas early? 

Yes. It drives me crackers! There’s a time and a season for everything and everything should wait its turn. We’ve already seen adverts for furniture shops saying that they’ll “deliver before Christmas!!!” as if that’s a selling point in SEPTEMBER. We’ve also seen adverts for holidays for 2014. They don’t usually appear on our screens until Boxing Day. Sheesh. They’ve even leapfrogged Christmas there!

What is your favourite thing about this season?

I love the food, the sense of family, the drawing together of the year, the shortening days and the overall sense that it’s time to slow down and take stock of things. Nature has a rhythm to it and this is the time of year when many animals begin making preparations to hibernate and sit out the winter huddled up in their nests and dens. We humans should take a leaf out of their book and learn to listen to the rhythm of things going on around us and slow down a bit. As the evenings draw in it’s a time for companionship, story telling, entertaining each other, celebrating food and fellowship and we shouldn’t be ashamed to use the longer nights for sleep, rest and restoration.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Sunday Stealing – Autumn Meme

Add yours

  1. I didn’t know anything about this “Sunday Stealing,” but it looks interesting! At any rate, thanks for the pingback. If you don’t mind, I’ll have a look at your blog while I’m here…

    Like

  2. You’ve never heard of baking pumpkin seeds with butter and salt and eating them? They’re so good! Apple crumble sounds good too. Haven’t had that for a long time. Yum.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

