Falling Into The Hodgepodge


Welcome to the Wednesday Hodgepodge! Add your link at the end of Joyce’s post (click the button) and then be a good neighbour and go say hi to the bloggers linking around you. Here are my answers-

1. What’s one thing that’s still the same about you as when you were young?

My total lack of self-belief.

2. What’s more important-history or science?  Why?

I’d say history. There is nothing new on this earth in terms of human behaviour and history can teach us a lot about how to handle ourselves today. Some lessons never seem to be learned though, especially the ones surrounding issues of territory, war, compassion, sharing food and resources etc. That’s not to say science isn’t important in any way, it’s just that the way I see it, science without compassion is a brutal tool. History can teach us that compassion.

3. Lima, kidney, string, garbanzo, black, or pinto-your favourite bean?

It depends what food I’m eating them with – string beans are yukky in chilli whereas kidney beans are great! My overall favourite beans are the ones that Heinz turn into baked beans.

4. What’s something people come to your town to do?

Well, we are quite a sporting city so I’d say that people come to us to watch Manchester City or Manchester United play football, or Lancashire play cricket, or any of the swimming galas at the Aquatics Centre, or even the major cycling events at the Velodrome.

5. When was the last time you were in a meeting? Sum it up for us in five words or less.

I should have been in a meeting on Monday night at church but I was too ill to go. The one before that would have been where I was part of a team who put a presentation to a deputation from the Diocese for our church to become accredited as a ministry training centre. I’d sum it up by saying “it was fulfillingly challenging”.

6. What special event would you like a VIP pass to attend?

I would love to go and visit the Cambridge Folk Festival. I love folk music and to go to that festival would be a complete joy. We are kind of planning on going to it either next year or the year after (finances depending, obviously) so a VIP pass would be BRILLIANT.

7. What’s one piece of advice you’d give a writer?

Write.

Write some more.

Write even more than that.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I’ve struggled a lot this week with my health and I’ve not really been with it because of the high levels of painkillers I’ve been on. I’ve had episodes like this on and off for nearly four years now and this has been the worst one for a while. It brought back all those feelings I had right at the start of it. The fear, the worry, the “what the hell was THAT pain??”, the “is it ever going to end?” etc and I was reminded just how much I rely on my faith, my family and my friends to support me. Without those three F’s, I would have gone under by now. I’m not being dramatic, just honest.

I know I’m in God’s hands and he’s got my back in this, but with the best will in the world, even God can’t make me a cup of tea and bring me my drugs when I’m stuck in bed which is where my family come into it. Thank you Emma!!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Falling Into The Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. Thank you for coming to my blog. Yes the pictures were both the same place- one closer up and one farther away.
    Do you know what your pain is from?
    Work on believing the best of yourself – you are wonderful!

    Like

    1. Ahh thanks Sandie, that’s great advice and a real boost to my morale!
      I have been having tests and scans and all sorts of investigation to try to get to the bottom of what’s causing my pain but all they seem to be able to tell me is a long list of what it ISN’T. I’m back at the consultant next week so maybe I’ll know more then.

      Like

  2. Thanks so much for stopping by today!
    I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t been feeling well. I hope you find relief (and answers) soon! Praise the Lord for helpful friends and family 🙂

    Like

  3. Hubs and I are going to the opening night gala of the New Jersey symphony tonite. My first time to see them perform and I’m looking forward to it.

    I’m sorry you’re struggling so with health issues. Take good care.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

