Pain Management


If you follow me regularly you’ll know that I have health problems that now and again cause me major problems. This week has been one of those weeks and even the strongest of my medication hasn’t had much of an affect on my pain levels and so I’ve employed every distraction method I know of to help myself through it.

My go to activity when I can’t do very much and the pain is at a high level is crochet. I taught myself how to do it a couple of years ago when I first got ill, and I am totally hooked – if you pardon the pun! This is a picture of some of the little items I’ve made this week whilst managing my pain.

2013-09-26 16.02.16

We had a coffee morning this morning in aid of the Macmillan Nurses and I sold all five of these for that cause. They are super quick to make and have served a double purpose this week.

Thank God for crochet!

10 thoughts on “Pain Management

Add yours

  1. Those are so cute, and they served two great purposes! I’m glad you have this distraction to help with the pain. I crochet, but never learned to knit. Crocheting is much easier to manage, as far as I’m concerned. I hope you get some relief soon, Pam. Dealing with pain is exhausting.

    Like

  2. These are really cute! I always take a “hooker” bag with me to hospital and dr appts (we have a LOT of them) . I want to try some ami…ami…amigur….what is that called? Crocheted little animals? amigurami or what? something. lol I haven’t gotten brave enough yet….but maybe I will try some. I have a friend wanting me to make her a dragon toy.

    Like

  3. I imagine these are really quick to make. I used to make filet crochet table mats which took forever and needed tons of concentration. Love to take this up again but …..
    Good that they served a double purpose by making some money for McM too!

    Like

    1. They are quick to make but take forever to finish off. I seemed to crochet the component bits in about an hour or so but then spent the same amount of time stuffing and sewing them up! Great fun though, and I’m pleased I could contribute to the Macmillan nurses. They do a fantastic job and need all the financial help we can give them.

      Like

  4. Lovely picture of your beautiful crochet work. I’m glad it helped you in coping with pain.
    I have Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. When I get a lot of pain, some exercises while walking seem to help best. I guess it stimulates the blood flow.

    Like

    1. Ouch! I had a bit of carpal tunnel syndrome when I was carrying my daughter but once she was born it went away. I can only imagine how awful it is to live with it day to day. I’m glad you’ve found some way to ease the discomfort.

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

