Wednesday Hodgepodge


Welcome to October and another week in the Wednesday Hodgepodge. Everyone is welcome to play along-just answer the questions on your own blog, then hop over to Joyce by clicking the button below to add your link to the party. Here are my answers to this week’s questions.

1. What’s one thing you learned in September?

I learned that it’s ok to be me.

That might sound a bit deep, but honestly, it’s true. It has taken me just over 42 years to do it but it dawned on me recently that you know what, it’s ok just to be me. I don’t have to be or do anything other than be “me” to be acceptable. And that’s a nice feeling.

2. Acorn squash, butternut squash, spaghetti squash, yellow squash, zucchini squash, or blech! hold the squash!…what’s your favourite squash?  Your favourite way to prepare your favourite squash?

I love courgettes (the English name for zucchini) and marrow but I have also grown to be quite partial to butternut squash too. Especially when it is cooked with carrots and onions and blitzed up with some spices to be a tasty soup in the Autumn.

3. The older I get the ______________________________.

….less I worry about trying to impress people. There’s nothing I can do about people’s opinion of me so as long as I am true to myself (as well as my self) then I can’t do any more.

4. What’s your favourite television theme song ever?

Oh wow there’s so many to choose from so I will give you my top 5, which can be called “favourite” depending on my mood: Magnum PI, The Professionals, Some Mother’s Do ‘Ave ‘Em, Cagney and Lacey, and Hawaii 5-0.

5. What do you wish you’d spent more time doing five years ago?

Saving!! I was still working back then and we thought that we were struggling financially. Until I lost my job, was refused any state help and the credit crunch turned into a full blown recession. Now I realise that we were pretty comfortable and we should have saved some of our cash each month.

6. What item do you most need (or want) to add to your wardrobe this fall?

I need a coat. I’m not bothered what colour or style or length or anything, but I do need a coat. I’ve managed the last couple of winters without my own (I have borrowed one) but I do need something warm and waterproof that is suitable for conducting the band in. It’s amazing how cold one gets when one is wafting one’s arms about in the middle of a Yorkshire winter when the band is playing carols outdoors!

7. On October 2, 1950 the Peanuts cartoon was introduced to the world.  What was your favourite cartoon when you were a kid?

I have always been a big fan of Tom and Jerry. Love them. My favourites were the musical ones like the one where Jerry is trying to play the Hungarian Rhapsody on the piano and Jerry is messing about inside the casework with the hammers and all that. I also love Spike…. “Dats ma booooy”.

tom and jerry2

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I have waited for over 2 years to get a follow up appointment with my consultant after some tests I had done on my offal, and that appointment was today. I had a phone call last week to confirm that I would be attending at 4pm today and I duly arrived at 3.40pm. Only to be told my appointment was at 4.30pm, not 4 o’clock as previously advised. I sat with my Dad in the waiting room watching the clock go round. And round. And round. At about 5.15pm one of the nurses came over and told us that the clinic was running about 2 and a half hours behind schedule. I eventually went in – not to see my consultant as I was expecting, but a senior nurse instead – at 6.25pm.

Thanks Dave. I’m really glad to see that you are fixing the NHS.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge

  1. edshunnybunny says:

    Just reading your random thought makes me feel ‘ill’. Would I be correct in assuming you live in the UK? The people here in the US have no idea what’s coming their way, with socialized medicine.

    I sure hope you get that warm and waterproof coat!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Yes, I’m in the UK. It sounds really bad doesn’t it?! It’s not that bad really, it’s just that I had a bad experience this time round with the waiting and the appointment etc. The quality of care I got on Wednesday was absolutely top notch and I couldn’t fault the care and attention the doctor gave me when I eventually saw her. She must have been tired too, but she still gave me 100% attention, and she answered all my questions without once fobbing me off or making me feel like I was being silly. The biggest problems we have with our NHS is the silly bean-counters who tinker with the system to “streamline” it all the time, but end up messing things up when it comes to getting patients to see the doctors in the first place. Generally speaking, the care we get is phenomenal. It’s just getting to see a doctor where the problems lie.

      Like

  2. Dawn says:

    I’ve never heard the term courgettes. Interesting. What’s marrow? I can imagine it might get chilly standing outside and conducting. Hope you find a coat soon. I hear you on the savings issue. Wish we would have saved more before kids. Have a great week!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you for stopping by Dawn. A marrow is a large gourd-type vegetable. They are green, sometimes with yellowish stripes, and are probably about 12 inches long and 5 inches in diameter. You split them lengthways, scoop out the seeds and pulp from the centre, and then stuff them with whatever you fancy. They don’t have much flavour of their own, but when you stuff them with spicy lamb mince and vegetables and topped with cheese sauce they are scrummy!

      Like

  3. teelee2013 says:

    Some people in this country believe NHS is going to be just wonderful. They haven’t heard stories like yours, and others who have to deal with long waits and then not seeing a doctor.

    I enjoyed reading your Hodgepodge today!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you teelee. As I’ve just replied to someone else who commented about the NHS, the quality of care we get from our doctors and nurses is absolutely top class and we couldn’t get better. It’s just the whole referral thing and the appointment system that is so awful. When we get to see the people who are going to treat us, by and large, they really do care and are so helpful and give good value. It’s just getting to see them in the first place that’s a problem.

      Like

  4. debby9972 says:

    I agree, we don’t have to impress everyone anymore! Saving….don’t get me started. Five years ago I never even gave thought to the fact they we were going to be in our 60’s. I’ve wasted too much money that really could have helped us. That is just crazy about your appointment today.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      In defence of the NHS, the system to get to see a doctor is abysmal, but the quality of care we get once we see them is absolutely phenomenal. I was in there with the doctor for over half an hour (they are only allocated 15 minutes, which is why the clinic was running so far over time) and it was a thorough consultation and I really felt I’d been listened to and was valued as a patient, not just a set of symptoms for the hospital to “solve”.

      Like

  5. tina says:

    I liked your answer to question #1, but how very sad that ANYONE feels they HAVE to impress anyone else EVER… As for Tom and Jerry, they were, and still are, my son’s favorite cartoon ever! Oh my goodness, what those two could do to a house in only a matter of fifteen minutes!… Have a great week!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you Tina. It’s seems strange now looking back to school days etc when we try so hard to fit in or impress our peers, but everyone kinda has to do that. It’s only as we grow more comfortable in our skins as we grow older that we realise that we don’t have to do that at all, and we are less judgemental about others too. One of the benefits of getting older I suppose!

      Like

  6. viviellevirgule says:

    If you don’t mind I have to ask what body part is known as offal in British English? The only use I’ve ever heard for offal in the US is the inedible organs of butchered meat, and I’m guessing that that’s not the meaning you had!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Ah….my play on words I’m afraid. I do mean offal as in the inedible organs (kidneys, liver, pancreas) etc. I refer to my pain as my “offal pain” because it’s in that region and I try to make light of it by using that term. We do eat offal here though. Not as much as the French, but we do like things like steak and kidney pies, or liver and bacon with onions and mashed potato. Our meat manufacturing is more expensive than it is in the US so we like to use as much of the animal as we can and things like kidneys and liver etc are inexpensive ways of getting protein into our diets. And tasty too!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

