Musing Monday (7th October)


I’m linking up with another blog today. The original post is found by clicking the picture below. Why not have a go yourself?

 

 

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…I’m in the mood for chatting so I’m answering them all!

Describe one of your reading habits.

I like to leave the ending of a book at a point where I can finish it all off in one go, usually before I go to sleep at night. It’s very rare that I finish a book during the day, even though I read pretty much any time, and it has been known that I will read until the early hours if it means leaving an unacceptably short bit of the book to read in the morning. I don’t know how I manage to do it, I guess it’s from years (and years) of practice!

Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).

“The Fellowship of the Ring”. Yes, yes I know I claim to be a book nerd but for some reason this one has slipped by me until now. I read The Hobbit about 30 years ago and loved it but never really fancied reading the Lord of the Rings. I was about to try it when they went and made a film of it, which put me off. I don’t like seeing films that I intend reading the book of and out of stubbornness I didn’t watch the film (still haven’t) and waited for the hype to die down to try the book again. And then they went and made the Hobbit. Oh well, I’d better get it read soon so I am up to speed with everyone else because no doubt the conversations will be turning to Middle Earth again soon.

What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 

I cannot wait for the next Bridget Jones installment to be published. The press have been publishing extracts recently but I don’t want to read any of them until I can read the whole thing all at the same time. I remember laughing hysterically at the first two – way before they were turned into films – and just can’t wait for the next one. As ever, my fear is that it won’t be up to the quality of the first two, but I’ll still be reading it!

Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

clean cut book coverI recently bought “Clean Cut” by Lynda la Plante. It’s the third book in the Anna Travis series and I bought it because I loved the first two and wanted to carry on with it to see how the characters develop and if the author has kept up the pace and depth of great writing.  I have to say that after about 25% of the way in, I’m a bit disappointed to be honest. There doesn’t seem to be much of a plot yet and the characters are very one dimensional. I saw a review on Amazon that said that this book was very much “tell” and not much “show” and I have to agree. I just hope that it picks up soon or else I probably won’t be reading the rest of these. I’ve not read any Lynda la Plante before but I am guessing that they must be well received because they have been adapted for TV and she has a great reputation.

 

Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!

Something that annoys me about the industry is that some authors can make millions and squillions of dollars out of pretty mediocre work yet others can turn out real quality time after time without much recognition at all. I think it’s possibly because those who have a new idea but can’t write it up properly sell themselves out to Hollywood and their money is made on the back of hype and merchandise rather than talent and hard graft. J K Rowling, I’m aiming that comment at you! The first Harry Potter book blew me away – it was unique and refreshing and a totally new idea in the world of children’s literature. It was well written and was well followed up with the second. But by then, the hype machine began its work and Hollywood came sniffing round and what was a natural ending suddenly became a major blockbusting series of FILMS and the book quality dropped as quickly as a failed expelliamous spell.

septimus heap book coverBut here’s the thing, J K Rowling’s work wasn’t new and unique and refreshing at all. I have read a series of books about a character called Septimus Heap by Angie Sage that is far superior to the Harry Potter books both in terms of plot and characterisation and yet they haven’t had a fraction of the exposure JKR and HP have had.

spooks apprenticeAnother example is the “Spooks” series by Joseph Delaney. What a cracking series! The central character is Tom, apprenticed to a Spook, and together they fight the forces of darkness. Really imaginative, identifiable historical characters and locations, well written, full of meaty substantial plots and would lend themselves completely to the big screen. But I would hate to see the books suffer as a consequence of putting them on the silver screen until the author has definitely finished with them. JKR made a big mistake by writing the 3rd to the 7th book purely for the screenwriters and not her readers, but financially she’s not made a mistake at all. I suppose my rant is against the authors who put making money above keeping their readers satisfied, and the industry that encourages that sort of thing.

ARGH!!!!

 

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Blog-hop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Musing Monday (7th October)

  1. bookmammal says:

    I feel the same way that you do about movie versions of books–especially books that I love. I understand that books and films are two totally different mediums, but I just hate to have a director’s version interfere with the “movie” that an author has already planted into my head! I don’t like buying the movie-cover version of books, either. I’m too much of a book purist, I guess!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      It’s lovely to meet a kindred soul!! Yes, I guess I’m a bit of a purist too when it comes to book covers. I would rather have a “proper” cover than one of cast members in costume on the front. My imagination doesn’t always see eye to eye with the film-makers. Ok, it NEVER sees eye to eye with the film-makers!

      Like

  2. Mich Mayo-Smith says:

    Hey Pam,
    You’re right on. I NEVER watch the film before I’ve read the book. I have also kept that same rule for my kids e.g. Jenny has just finished Harry Potter book 5 (JK might have written them for the screenwriters BUT for kids they are still bloody good books, and to me ANYTHING that encourages them to read rather than play on their DS or the computer or drool in front of the TV is a job well done!). So Jenny or Milly can’t see the movie till they have read the book cos I reckon it’s just a major spoiler AND it might not show the whole impression the author was trying to give e.g. some of the Tom Clancy novels/ films are a very good example, Patriot Games was SOO different in the book compared to the movie; they got slightly closer in Hunt for Red October but the plotting/ intrigue etc. can NEVER be matched in a film to the same way you can read about it in the book!
    Mich

    Like

  3. teelee2013 says:

    There is to be a third Bridget Jones book?! What fun!!

    Like

  4. Jeyna Grace says:

    I can’t blame Rowling for the hype.. if it was not for it I would not have discovered HP. I’m glad it happened.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      You’re right, I mean, who would turn down the opportunity to make money like she’s done? It’s the industry I was ranting at for skewing things and promoting mediocre writing over quality stuff. Not that JKR is bad, just not as good as others.

      Like

  5. I hope you LOVE LoTR, it is a fantabulous saga. Took me a couple of tries to get into it, as I found the beginning a bit slow, but it’s a brilliant book.
    http://cupandchaucer.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/musing-mondays-october-07/

    Like

  6. Maxi says:

    When I talk to people about writing I always say, “Money is at the bottom of the list of anyone who truly loves to write.” Maxi Malone

    blessings to you, Pam ~ maxi

    Like

  7. Hope all is well with you , Pam!

    I sing in my church choir and we learned a new to us setting of the Lord’s Prayer yesterday, and it is one of most beautiful pieces I’ve ever heard, and I thought that you might like to hear it being a musician.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6_AudIvBBE (This isn’t my choir singing. 😉

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      This is lovely!! Thanks for the link.

      I’m alright thanks Mary. I’ve just had my hands full this week and I’ve let my blogging slip a bit. I promise I’ll be back on form next week!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

