Wednesday Hodgepodge


Click here to go to the host site for the Wednesday Hodgepodge

1.  According to Oxford Dictionaries, the 2013 word of the year is ‘selfie‘. Your thoughts? When did you last take a selfie? Do you post them online somewhere? Do you prefer to be in front of the camera or behind the lens?

As a concept, the “selfie” is a dual-edged thing for me. First of all, it’s great that we have the technology to be able to take a picture of ourselves and share it among our friends instantly, but secondly the technology to be able to take a picture of ourselves and share it among our friends instantly is an intrusion that can border on the insane for some people.

For example, a photograph of you or you and your friends at a party, or a famous landmark, or with something interesting going on in the background is a great way to share what you’re up to and there’s a whole genre attached to selfies in famous places that is really taking off online. But for some people, obsessively taking their own picture in mirrors with a never ending series of silly pouts and poses is downright vain and serves no purpose whatsoever other than to inflate their own sense of ego.

Personally I don’t like being in front of the camera, but over the summer my husband and I made it a bit of a game to take a daily selfie while we were on our holidays and it was to show us at various places and demonstrating the different types of weather we had each day. I’ve not published them because they are personal and private to us, and they are deposits in our memory bank of something that we’d rather keep to ourselves. Not that they were anything not suitable for publication (too long married for anything like THAT!), but some things are not for posting online are they?

2.  Will you send out Christmas Cards this year? If so, are they ready to go? If not, are you glad or sad about leaving that tradition behind?

I most certainly WILL be sending out Christmas cards this year!! I don’t agree with the modern trend of people saying to their friends that they are donating to charity instead of sending cards but they wish them a happy Christmas all the same… No. Get real people!! The amount of money spent on Christmas cards is negligible compared to a worthwhile charity donation, so why not do both? That’s one thing, but what really gets me is that an electronic “Happy Christmas” card doesn’t have anything personal about it at all. A handwritten card shows people that you have taken the time and trouble to think about them and in our ever increasingly busy lives you still care enough to take some time out to reach out to people. I think it’s an important gesture and this year I have come to realise the value of personal contact, so I will be making an extra special effort to send my cards out early next week.

3.  Do you trust easily?

Hmmmm. I would have said “yes” to this question a couple of years ago, but I have gone through a bit of a change in my outlook and I would now say “no, not so much now”. There is a difference between love and trust. I love easily and freely and I hope that will never change, but trust is a different thing.

4. Pine-cinnamon-peppermint-vanilla (as in sugar cookie)…of those listed, which one is your favourite December scent?

I’m not sure what a sugar cookie is, but my favourite December scent is pine and cinnamon, especially candles. Vanilla is too sickly (unless it’s in food, obviously!)

5.  Did you do more talking or more listening yesterday?  Was that by choice or by necessity?

I probably did more talking yesterday. I have had a lot on my mind recently and I managed to get a lot out in the open yesterday with my bestie. I still have all those things on my mind, but I really appreciated the chance to take them out and give them a bit of a shake.

6.  What’s the last song that got stuck in your head?  Sorry if it’s back there now 🙂

We have been practicing Christmas music at band for the past 6 weeks or so, and last week I was being haunted by one of the tunes we played at the Christmas lights switch-on ceremony in Todmorden. “Jingle Bell Rock” is just about hovering on the edge of my mind now, but I can choke it down as soon as it starts to emerge….argh….no! Go away!!! Too late…..

7.  Which world explorer (in the whole history of the world) would you most like to have travelled with, and why?

I would have liked to have travelled with Phileas Fogg when he travelled round the world in 80 days. To see the world as it was back then – even a fictionalised version of it – would have been fantastic. The romance of it all is stunning.

Around the World in 80 Days

 

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Why do teenagers insist on continuing to deny the bloody obvious when they are caught out in the wrong? I have been invigilating exams this week for Year 11s, and I had to step in to stop a boy from continually making eyes at his girlfriend throughout an exam yesterday. When I said “stop trying to make eye contact” he said, “I’m not”. I said “you are, and it’s against the rules to try and communicate in an exam”. He tutted and said “I’m not doing anything!!” with that sulky “you’re only an adult what do YOU know about anything” look on his face. I didn’t want to report him (it was only a mock after all) but he needed to know I meant business, so I gave him my best “don’t mess with me” look and moved round to say the same to his girlfriend. She just said “yes miss, sorry miss” meekly and that was that. Is it a thing teenage boys have to do just to annoy us?!

When Ethan does that kind of thing with me I turn it into something ridiculous. For example, “Ethan, stop whistling”. “I’m not!”. “Ok then, Ethan stop doing cartwheels in the street and take that stupid tutu off while you’re at it”. He usually manages to stop whistling at that point…

 

Hope you have a great day and your Christmas preparations are going to plan.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge

  1. Dawn says:

    I was beginning to wonder about those selfies with your husband. Glad you clarified that! 🙂 I’ve found that saying something ridiculous or unexpected will often stop my kids in their tracks too.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      It’s a great technique isn’t it! My tactic is to baffle them as much as possible and it confuses them to the point they forget their outer shell for a bit.

      I’ll get round to publishing a selfie someday I think. Maybe just me, maybe one of the two of us over the summer. Hmmm…

      Like

  2. Terri D'Orsaneo says:

    I enjoyed your answers! I don’t know what is wrong with all teenagers these days (that’s a generality, but not far from the truth)!! No respect, no responsibility, no common sense….

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      I know what you mean!! There are plenty that seem to buck the media-generated opinion of teenagers, but they all do seem to have a common streak in them don’t they? The no common sense thing makes me chuckle sometimes. It’s a combination of them thinking they know better than us “oldies” and them trying to stretch their boundaries without having the skills to do it properly. And our future is in their hands… *Shudder*

      Like

  3. jodaley says:

    It’s nice to see you in the Hodgepodge this week! I love Christmas cards too, and always look forward to mail in December. I hope the tradition never completely falls by the wayside.

    Like

  4. As a teaching assistant (freshman college students so 18-19 year olds mostly) your exam story made me laugh a bit. Proctoring is always fun…

    A sugar cookie is a plain cookie that’s basically sugar, butter, flour, leavening, salt, vanilla, and maybe egg. A lot of time they are decorated. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sugar_cookie

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

