Wednesday Hodgepodge – 18th December 2013



1. Do you believe in miracles?

I do.

There are too many things that happen without rational explanation for the possibility of miracles to be denied. As a Christian I argue that miracles are things that happen because God made them happen; other spiritually minded people might argue that the universe or the cosmos has a hand in miracles. Either way, miracles are those things that happen outside of our understanding and reasoning and I believe they are more common than we think.

2. What’s a recent fad you admit to trying?

I’m one of those annoying people who refuse point blank to take part in anything simply because it is a fad. It is a trait of mine that has caused me much pain and yearning in the past. My determination not to be a sheep has made me miss out on quite a lot really! For example – the onesie. They look so comfy and fun, but simply because everyone else is wearing them I refuse to. Another one for you (which I hate myself for refusing…) is the Christmas sweater-wearing fad that seems to have taken off in recent years. I ADORE Christmas sweaters and the cheesier the better, but because everyone else is doing it, I refuse to and I think I’m missing out.  I’m about as anti-fad as you can get I suppose!

3. Peppermint-are you a fan? If so, what’s your favourite food or beverage containing peppermint?

I do like peppermint. My favourite minty food is peppermint Matchmakers. I’m not sure if they are just a British thing or are available round the world, but if you’ve never had them you are missing out. They are delightful sticks of chocolate with little minty sugary chunks in, and are so more-ish that it is a good job they come in quite small boxes! The also come in chocolate orange flavour but the mint ones are my favourite.

matchmakers

4. Break the ice, on thin ice, as cold as ice (emotionally, not literally)…which phrase have you run into most recently? Explain.

I have spent a lot of time in my church building recently, and two occasions were for funerals. There was a mistake in the notices about the time of the second one and the man who sets the heating didn’t set it to come on in time. He thought the service was at 12.30 but it was actually at 11am, so when the mourners were arriving the heating had only been on for about half an hour. Our building is about 100 years old with a huge high ceiling, which means that it takes a good two hours for the heat to even begin to take the chill off the air. As you could imagine, it was as cold as ice in there that day.

5. Have you ever broken or spilled something in someone else’s home? Still friends?

I once spilled a full glass of red wine on my brother’s ex-girlfriend’s (new) cream carpet. Oops! We’re not still friends because they are not together now and she has moved away. On another occasion I poured a glass of red wine all over my friend’s dinner thinking it was gravy. Maybe I should stay away from red wine?

6.  ‘Tis the week before Christmas…are you feeling more like Buddy the Elf or the Grinch before his heart grew?

I am most definitely in the Buddy the Elf frame of mind!! I love Christmas and I love the run-up to the big day. I have not got a decoration up in the house, nor a present purchased yet but I’m not stressed at all and am really looking forward to next week. Love it love it love it!!!

7. Share a favourite quote relating to Christmas.

christmas quote

 

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I would like to thank Joyce for a splendid set of Hodgepodges this year. She has set some really thought provoking questions and I have thoroughly enjoyed learning more about other people’s cultures and lives by their answers to them.

Thank you Joyce!! Enjoy your holiday and I look forward to another year’s hodgepodging with you in 2014.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 18th December 2013

  1. Hope you have a Merry Christmas! 🙂 I don’t believe i’ve visited your blog before. I try to comment on every one’s blog. 🙂

    Like

  2. Maribeth says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog today! After a year of not following my, due to my cancer and operations, I am trying so hard to get back into both writing and visiting blogs.

    Like

  3. jodaley says:

    I’m thinking you need to develop a taste for a nice Chardonnay : ) Happy Christmas to you and yours!

    Like

  4. auntyuta says:

    Hope your church is going to be well heated for all your Christmas celebrations! 🙂
    Wishing you and your family a very peaceful and enjoyable Christmas! 🙂
    Love, Uta
    Here at the East coast of Australia we have at present absolutely beautiful summer weather. I hope it won’t get too hot for our Christmas celebrations.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you Uta! I wish you all the very best for a peaceful and loving Christmas too – and can you send us some of your warmth to the northern hemisphere please?!

      Blessings to you and yours x

      Like

      • auntyuta says:

        Yesterday, Pam, we had a pretty hot, steamy day. But we made it enjoyable by going to the beach and having a swim in the pool. The forecast is for cooler weather for the Christmas days.
        Maybe come July you’ll get a taste of real hot weather when some people here in Australia take to celebrating ‘Christmas in July’. We saw last night a Christmas special of ‘Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries’. They had snow in the mountains close to Melbourne because it was a ‘Christmas in July’ celebration!
        So, dear Pam, do enjoy all your Christmas celebrations even if it is a bit cold.
        Anyhow, we’ll see what we can do about sending you some of our warmth! 🙂

        Like

  5. Linda Conley says:

    Thanks for visting my blog. Loved your answers!!! Have a Merry Christmas.

    Like

  6. edshunnybunny says:

    Now, Pam, everyone should have at least one Christmas sweater in their lifetime 🙂 I’m too hot-natured for sweaters, but I’ve owned several sweater vests–and wear them even when they’re not in style LOL

    Wishing a very Merry Christmas to you and yours–and watch out for that red wine 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

