Red Soup


Got to share this with you – we have just had the supper to die for!!

Red Soup:

4 over-ripe and otherwise non-usable red peppers

3 smallish red onions

2 tins of chopped tomatoes

1 litre of stock

DSC_3156

 

1. Chop the peppers into large chunks; cut the red onions into quarters and then each one into half. Place into a roasting tin and drizzle with olive oil, lemon juice and garlic granules (or the real deal if you have some).

2. Put into the oven at about 200 degrees C for 20 minutes until softened and the juices start to run.

3. Roughly cut up the softened peppers and place the whole lot (including juices in the pan) into a large pan. Add two tins of chopped tomatoes, 1 litre of stock made up with one vegetable stock cube and one chicken stock cube and season with salt and pepper to suit your own taste.

4. Bring it back to the boil and simmer gently for around 5 minutes then blend until extremely smooth. (I used my “wand” to do this).

5. Serve and enjoy.

We had a cheese topped roll with this tonight and it was absolutely gorgeous. Nicely filling without being overly stuffy and very, VERY tasty.

This amount served three of us with a decent sized bowlful, and there was enough left over to freeze another couple of portions. Well, there would have been had the boys not leaped up and helped themselves to seconds!!

Please try my soup for yourselves – please let me know how you get on.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Red Soup

  1. sybaritica says:

    Good idea … be a nice sauce base for other dishes too 🙂

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Yum yes!!! I can still taste it (that’ll be the long finish on the tomatoes and lemon juice) and I can taste this going along with all sorts – pasta, prawns, white fish…. yes lovely!

      Like

  2. Laura Santos says:

    I l ove red peppers! There is a tomato/red pepper soup I buy all the time, but I have never made my own. Thank you for the recipe. Happy day and Merry Christmas to you.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

