If I Can Stop One Heart From Breaking


I have often felt that my life is directionless or meaningless, and occasionally I have felt that I am fully interchangeable with someone (anyone) else. I wonder constantly what my vocation is, what my purpose is and what I am here for. And now and again I get little pointers to help me on my way.

Today’s little pointer comes courtesy of Emily Dickinson:

If I can Stop One Heart From Breaking

If I can stop one heart from breaking,

I shall not live in vain;

If I can ease one life the aching,

Or cool one pain,

Or help one fainting robin

Unto his nest again,

I shall not live in vain.

It isn’t the big, sweeping gestures that make a difference is it? It’s the little things and I should do well to remember that. This poem sums it up beautifully and has served its purpose well today.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in General/Journal, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I Can Stop One Heart From Breaking

  1. auntyuta says:

    I too like the sentiment in this poem very much, Pam. Thank you so much for sharing. 🙂
    Have a great day!

    Like

  2. viviellevirgule says:

    Oh Pam, you touch a lot of people, even “just” through this blog. You always bring a ray of sunshine into my day. 🙂

    Like

  3. Andy says:

    Reminds me of the saying of a ‘wise teacher’ I heard many years ago:
    If you have lightened the load of just one person who bore a burden, caused just one person to smile when they were down, then your life has been worthwhile.

    Like

  4. KittyHere says:

    What a good poem. Worth printing out and posting.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

