Explain for me…


I happened to find myself at the A&E department of the Manchester Royal Infirmary last night – don’t worry, it wasn’t for me and it was just as a precaution for the person I was with – and I saw this in the car park:

ground floor1

Now, explain for me….

Why there is a huge sign on the wall, with masses of space all around it, yet with the vowels missing from the word “floor”? Why is the wording not all there? Why not “Grd Floor”, or even “G Floor” if space was a problem? But it’s not really as if space is at a premium is it?! If it was, then surely just “G” would have been sufficient. No?

And just in case this sign was mystifying, here is another example:

ground floor2

This one was on the concrete wall above my car. I’m sure the builders/printers/car park owners have their reasons but…

Your thoughts please?!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in General/Journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Explain for me…

  1. Linda Conley says:

    I think they just shortened the word? (or tried too?) Hmm..I don’t know. I have never seen anything like that.

    Like

  2. viviellevirgule says:

    Crazy! Especially since they weren’t short on space…

    Like

  3. teelee2013 says:

    It does seem to be done incorrectly, and I agree with you 100%. How silly of them!

    Like

  4. dderbydave says:

    Soap box time here. I don’t like abbreviations (“don’t” is okay – it’s a friendly contraction …. Like “it’s”) when they serve no purpose. I have replied to tweets with too many, to ask for the full version. In business we suffer from abbreviations all the time – PI is a count, SEL is a price tag. They are used I think to exclude folk unless you buy into the nonsense and use them. You’re forced into a mock camaraderie. But this example is just tosh. What did they think they were achieving?

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

