Wednesday Hodgepodge – 5th February


Welcome to the Wednesday Hodgepodge. Everyone is welcome to play along…answer on your own blog, then add your link on Joyce’s host site and join the party.  Here are my answers to this week’s questions-

1. Are we always responsible for our actions? Are there any exceptions?

I think by and large yes, we are responsible for our actions. Motivation does play a part though, and sometimes we can take a course of action for the best of reasons but that has totally the wrong outcome. I’m thinking about things like conscious decisions about parenting, or when it comes to parents with health problems and deciding about their care needs and so on.

2. Has anyone from your home town become famous?

I am a Manchester girl born and bred and we have a whole host of famous people from my city. Musicians, sports stars, actors, playwrights, suffragettes, industrialists, health pioneers… it all happened here in Manchester. Right through the ages Manchester has been a hub of innovation and success and I’m kinda proud of that. We have also had our fair share of crooks and bad ‘uns too and without singling any particular criminal, we have had a pretty shady past as well as a successful one.

3. January was National Slow Cooker month. Do you own a slow cooker/crock pot? Did you use it last month? What’s a favourite dish you make using a slow cooker or crock pot?

I don’t own a crock pot or a slow cooker, but I do quite like to do occasional slow cooked stews or casseroles in the oven. One I haven’t done for a while but must get round to again is liver and onions done for hours on a low heat in the oven. Delicious with a bit of mashed potato and bacon.

4. How do you feel about private companies collecting data about you?

I realise that it is a fact of life these days, but that doesn’t stop me having an opinion on it. I have mixed feelings – these companies can collect all the data they want but they don’t actually KNOW me do they? They can assume I am into travelling by train because I just booked tickets online, but they don’t know that my preference is travelling by car do they? They don’t know who I love, or what makes me tick, or what my goals and ambitions are, so they can track my online presence all they want it won’t make any difference to me. It bugs me when they ring me though – some days the phone is red hot with marketing calls. I ignore them, but it does drive me mad.

Like Joyce, I don’t fall for the “targeted marketing” they do on Facebook or blogs using cookies on my own computer. If I want to purchase something I will do it because I have decided I want it, not simply because it has been advertised to me online. I don’t fall for the “click like if you want to receive X” adverts that are all over the place neither. Perhaps I’m just cynical!

5. The Games of the 2014 Winter Olympics kick off with their opening ceremony this coming Friday…will you be watching?  Which Winter Olympic event would you most like to see in person? Have you ever been to Russia? Any desire to go, Olympics or otherwise?

I will most certainly be watching!! I love watching sports on TV and I adore the Olympics and Commonwealth Games etc. I would love to go and see the figure skating in person – none of the outdoor ones look particularly crowd-friendly – but I would love to try the bobsleigh for myself. Either that or the skeleton bob….yeah baby yeah!! I have never been to Russia and I don’t have any great desire to go neither. It scares me.

6. Share a good or bad sports related memory from your childhood or teen years.

Good question! We have just been talking about the things we got up to as children and left my son quaking with some of the stuff we got up to – climbing trees, climbing through upstairs windows for fun, riding bikes on frozen ponds, rope swing injuries, falling into rivers… Not sure any of that can be counted as “sports” as such, but we were certainly active!

My hairiest memory is being dared to walk out onto a frozen pond. I think I was about 10 or 11, and there was a small group of us playing on some waste ground around a disused mill. There were two millponds which were full of polluted, stagnant water (they were bright yellow) and were surrounded by reeds and weeds, hiding the edges. It was the middle of winter and one of them looked to be frozen right to the centre. Being the nutcase that I was, when I was dared to walk out on it, I did. I got about four or five feet from the edge before the inevitable happened…

Yeah… I know… stupid girl! I got a roasting from my Mum when I got home for being so wet. And smelly.

7.  What’s a must have song for you on a work out play list? If you don’t work out, run, bike, swim, walk, or anything else that could be construed as ‘exercise’, then what’s a song that at least motivates you to get up off the couch?

I don’t work out, but I do like to dance. Anything disco will usually get me up!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

My Gran Flo had another fall this week. You might remember that she is 97 and she is extremely frail, so falling is quite dangerous for her. She fell about years ago and broke her right wrist and after a spell in the local community hospital she was allowed home again. She manages to get around her little flat (slowly) by wheeling a frame/tray contraption in front of her but she has to lean on it because she is so hunched over. There was a power cut overnight a few nights ago (you might have heard about the storms in southern England?) and she had no light, so when she tried to make her way to the bathroom in the dark she misjudged the gap between chairs and knocked her frame into one, causing her to fall over.

She was found by the carers the next morning who took her straight to hospital. She has badly broken her left wrist and has a big gash on her arm, and due to her age and frailty, they had to manipulate the bones under local anaesthetic rather than knocking her out completely. The break is so bad that it can’t be fully manipulated, so they doctors have done the best they can but her wrist will be permanently twisted now. She is in the same community hospital as before for now until she recovers, but I fear that she may have to be moved to a nursing home rather than her own home when she is healed.

My heart breaks for her because she has valued her independence for so long, but at her age and with her health problems (she is nearly blind, mostly deaf, has breathing problems and kidney problems as well as her obvious mobility problems) she can’t look after herself any more.

She is obviously in a lot of pain and discomfort, and no doubt she is very frightened too. I know she doesn’t want to go into a home and she is frightened of being a burden to people. She is also very frightened about falling again which must make her life a living misery at the moment.

Please pray for her peace of mind and comfort in her dark moments.

Gran with blue blanket

 

This is a picture of my Gran the last time she broke her wrist nearly two years ago. She is much more frail now so you can imagine how must be feeling. God bless you Flo, get well soon.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 5th February

  1. jodaley says:

    Oh I’m so sorry about your Gran. I’m sure that has been so hard. I will keep her in my prayers.

    Like

  2. teelee2013 says:

    I’m so sorry to learn about your Gran’s accident. It does appear that she may need to move to a place where she can get better care. Living alone at her age – amazing!! God bless her! I will put her on my prayer list. Please keep us posted!!

    Like

  3. viviellevirgule says:

    I’ll add her to my prayers. Hope her pain is relieved quickly!

    Mary in PA

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

