Book Review – Harbour Street


Harbour Street by Ann Cleevesharbour street

Background/plot:

An elderly lady is stabbed to death on a crowded Metro carriage on her way home from Newcastle. Who killed her, and why? How did she fit into the community? How does her story unfold? Vera Stanhope investigates with her trusty DS Joe Ashworth, who was unlucky enough to have discovered the murder in the first place, and when there is another murder the red herrings and tension are cranked up a notch in equal measure.

Who are the main characters?

The star of the show is of course Vera Stanhope, a fusty and feisty Detective Inspector with the Northumberland Police, and we are treated to the return of her “sidekicks” Joe and Holly. These are the returning characters in all the “Vera” books, but in this we also have Margaret Kukowski (the victim) and a whole host of possible suspects.

Where is it set?

It is set in a fictional town in the North East of England. Harbour Street is a small, remote, seaside community consisting of the ubiquitous guest house, fish and chip shop, pub, café and amusement arcade, and is also home to a boatyard, a church and the old rectory that is now a women’s hostel. You could argue that the central character in this novel is the street itself.

My overall impression?

I have always loved the Vera Stanhope books and this one was one of the best. I am a big fan of Ann Cleeves anyway (she wrote the Shetland series) and have never failed to be carried away by her brilliant scene setting and characterisation in all her books. The previous Vera Stanhope book was a little off the boil for me, but this one is much better and is a cracking read from start to almost the finish. The story is believable, the characters are frighteningly realistic and the subplots never threaten or distract from the main story.

I was a little disappointed by the ending though. I felt it was a bit rushed and could have done with being spun out for another chapter. The wrap-up was a bit sudden and was a touch unbelievable for me. It was as if there was a step missing between the rest of the story and the killer’s reveal. Possibly because a publishing deadline was coming up? Perhaps, but apart from that I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

Will I read the next in the series?

Yes, without doubt. There is no sign of this series running out of steam and the development of the central characters has been realistic and credible throughout and I would like to read more about them and the fabulous setting that Ann Cleeves conveys each time she writes about Northumberland.

Would I recommend it to my friends?

Yes. There is nothing gory about this and it is a great read for anyone who is interested in crime stories or who loves a bit of people-watching.

 

Incidentally, the Vera Stanhope books have been remade into a brilliant set of TV programmes and they are fantastic. Brenda Blethyn plays the title character and even though she doesn’t match my mental image of Vera (in my mind she is a little like Margaret Rutherford as Miss Marple) she does a great job. This one would be great on TV too, especially as we will get to see the delicious David Leon as Joe!

 

Joe Ashworth and Vera Stanhope (played by David Leon and Brenda Blethyn)

Joe Ashworth and Vera Stanhope (played by David Leon and Brenda Blethyn)

 

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – Harbour Street

  1. teelee2013 says:

    Can you tell us the name of the TV series? We have subscribed to Acorn TV and all the shoes are from the UK. We enjoy so many of them, and this one sounds like we would enjoy it, too. It is always good to get your book reviews!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoy my reviews! The series is called “Vera” and the first few were fairly in line with the books but they are now writing the series independently of the books. I’m glad in one way because the characters are too good not to have on TV but in another I’m sad that in future the books will be different to the series. It’s happened before – think Rizzoli and Isles, or Morse, or Frost etc. Plus, the area where they’re set is beautiful in its bleakness and looks great on-screen. I hope you can access it in the States!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

