Daybook Entry – 20th February


021114_2314_DaybookEntr1.jpg

Apologies to my regular readers and followers but I have taken a few days out from blogging because of things going on at home. I’m back now but will be taking another little break sometime next week. Please read on…

 

FOR TODAY – 20th February 2014

Outside my window… we have a very mild, drizzly night tonight. A bit strange after all the bad weather we had only last week.

I am thinking… about the huge amount of work I’ve got ahead of me in the next couple of days.

I am thankful… for the life of my Gran who sadly died on Tuesday this week. You may know that she fell a couple of weeks ago and suffered a broken arm. Many of you offered your prayers for her recovery and we are all grateful for those prayers. She is now restored and healed in glory and I am grateful to her for teaching me so much about kindness, gentleness, hospitality, positivity and acceptance.

In the kitchen… we had tater ash for tea tonight. A peasant stew if you like – mincemeat, onions, carrots and potatoes in beef stock simmered until the potatoes fall and thicken up the juice. Lovely!!

I am wearing… grey and black everything – tshirt, comfy pants, socks and hoody. I’m feeling kinda grey too.

I am creating… not feeling very creative at the moment. I pick up the blanket I’m crocheting for the caravan now and again but there’s too much going on at the moment to concentrate on new projects.

I am going… to be picking my son up from the train station tomorrow tea time. He has been away at my brother’s near Bristol this week and at the age of 15 has made his very first journey away from home all by himself. He got the train from Manchester and changed at Gloucester on Tuesday, and the return journey tomorrow includes two changes…gulp. Proud (but anxious) Mama here. Can’t wait to see him!

I am wondering… how my Mum and Dad are getting on down at Gran’s flat without her. They are there at the moment and will stay until after the funeral now. We’ll be joining them for that obviously, but it feels very strange not having them here.

I am reading… a trashy vampire novel that is so trashy it is almost a caricature of trashy vamp-lit! It’s entertaining enough and passes the time. Just what I need at the moment. (Although I do have to say that it keeps raising the question of redemption in my mind – I’ll come back to that in another post though, when I can get my head round it).

I am hoping… our new banner will work to draw people in for Messy Church on Saturday. Excited about it but anxious in case nobody turns up (which has happened every time we have held one and so far we have always had upwards of 60 people attending…but there’s always a first time!).

messy banner
We put this outside our Church Hall today advertising Messy Church this weekend. This picture looks like it has Doctor Who’s tardis in the background doesn’t it?!

I am praying for… my Dad and my Uncle Phil who lost their Mum this week, and for the rest of my family who have lost such a sweet and gentle lady; someone who is facing their demons and battling with them with professional help; my friend who thankfully escaped serious injury in a car accident this week but who is suffering emotionally from it; my brother John; Rita who starts chemo next week; Eddie; the safe return of my son tomorrow; the safe sea-weekend for my daughter this weekend.

I am looking forward to… having both my children home again.

I am learning… that being a Mum gets harder the older they get.

Around the house… it has been just Kevin and myself this week and it has been wonderful – THINGS STAY WHERE THEY’RE PUT AND FOOD STAYS IN THE FRIDGE!!!!

I am pondering… which hymns to choose for Sunday morning’s worship at church. I am leading the service so it falls to me to choose the music. I love the responsibility of that particular part of the job because music is so important to me and I want to help other people connect through music too.

A favourite quote for today:

13Therefore put on the full armour of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. Ephesians 6:13-17

One of my favourite things… is my big comfy bed.

A few plans for the next few days: picking up Ethan tomorrow evening and then going straight to band; Saturday is Messy Church at noon; Sunday I’m leading worship at church; Monday is back to Stay and Play, and later in the week I will be travelling south for my Gran’s funeral.

A peek into my day…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

5 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 20th February

Add yours

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your Gran. She sounds like a very special lady. May her memory be eternal!

    Praying for you and your whole family.

    -Mary

    Like

    1. Thank you Mary. It has been a very difficult week this week but I’m sure things will get better once we can say goodbye to her properly. She was a very special lady in so many ways and we will miss her. Her health had been failing for a number of years and she was so frail and fragile that it became a daily miracle that she survived as long as she did.

      Date: Fri, 21 Feb 2014 14:19:57 +0000 To: sterlingsop@hotmail.com

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

