Wednesday Hodgepodge – 26th February 2014


After a short break due to life biting me a little, here is my first post in a few days. Thank you to Joyce as ever for giving me something meaty to think about and to contribute to with my thoughts.

 

1.What is something you’ll never forget about the age you are right now?

It feels weird to be old enough (just) to have grandchildren but young enough to be pre-middle aged. It’s a nicely strange feeling to not fit into any age-related category.

2. What’s a household chore you’ve never done? How have you managed that???

I have never mowed the lawn. We have lived here for 16 years and before that we didn’t have a lawn, so when we moved here it was “man” thing for Kevin to mow this one. It has just become one of those things that is *his* job to do it. I get to sweep up the paths afterwards but he won’t let me mow in the first place.

3. Does nature shape our personalities more than nurture? Explain.

A good question…!

I think that our personalities are shaped by a combination of nature and nurture, and depending on the trait in question, nature outweighs nurture more than the other way round. For example, if the tendency to have an addictive personality runs in the family then a child would probably grow into some sort of addict regardless of whether he or she is encouraged in their addiction growing up. On the other hand, if a child has a gift for music then they might not get to uncover that part of their nature unless they are in a musical environment that nurtures it.

4. Friday (February 28th) is ‘Something on a Stick Day’…funny because Zoanna at A Penchant for Pens recently sent me a question for the Hodgepodge relating to this topic.  What’s your favourite food eaten on a stick?

I do a mean skewered chicken and vegetable dish for barbecues and when we’re camping that I could quite easily live on for the rest of my life. The veggies can change but usually I skewer lumps of chicken with lumps of bell pepper, mushroom, red onion, courgette etc then marinated in lemon juice, olive oil, herbs and garlic etc before grilling or roasting in the oven.

5. Which of your five senses do you treasure most, and why?

I can imagine that if I were to lose any of my senses I would struggle to enjoy life to its fullest, but of all of them I would be devastated to lose my hearing. As a musician, not being able to hear music would be the biggest loss to me.

6. What’s the best music, theatre, or sporting venue you’ve been to? What made it great?

The best sporting venue I have been to has got to be the Etihad Stadium in Manchester. Home of the mighty Manchester City, it is a fantastic stadium and I have seen City play there many times as well as spending a day there when it hosted the Commonwealth Games in 2002 before it became their home. I am not a great culture vulture and so music and theatre venues have passed me by a little. Although I have enjoyed the opera at the Liverpool Empire a couple of times and have played at the Festival Hall in London and the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester.

7. It’s the last week of the month…in five words or less bid adieu to your February.

Losing Gran made February sad.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I’d like to share a video with you that I used in a worship session at church tonight. I hope you gain something from it:

 

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 26th February 2014

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

INSPIRING MAX

Inspiration through my thoughts, experiences and travels

kimberleycooperblog

Writing scifi, urban fantasy and paranormal romance. Oh, and colouring ...

