A few thoughts today…


My mind has been a bit overactive today, forgive the ramble but here are a couple of things that have been occupying space on the Mushy Cloud today:

  • Why do we grieve for someone if we know they are now at peace, pain-free and restored in glory? Is it selfish to miss someone even though to have them here would mean they were in pain, and struggling to get from one day to the next?
  • “In Christianity, God is not a static thing—not even a person—but a dynamic, pulsating activity, a life, almost a kind of drama. Almost, if you will not think me irreverent, a kind of dance.” – C. S. Lewis, Mere Christianity
  • How can trying to help someone feel like you are going behind someone else’s back?
  • Aren’t Dads great? A vigorous bout of cleaning in the bathroom this morning resulting in a loosened toilet seat = phone call to Dad…. “Daaaaaaaaad if I put the kettle on can you bring round a spanner to fix my toilet please?”
  • Will it snow like they’re threatening tomorrow? Will I be able to get to band in the hills??
  • Why are there no biscuits in the cupboard when I NEED one?!?!?!?!?!
  • Creating something really is the best way to cope with stress and depression.
  • So is listening to music.
  • Which reminds me, I must recharge my mp3 player – I am anticipating yet another sleepless night tonight. That will be five on the trot…
  • I am missing my daughter this week. I know she is at university and enjoying life, but I wish I could hug her right now.
  • I made my Gran a blanket a couple of years ago to keep her lap and knees warm when she was in her chair, or out in her “mobile throne” (wheelchair). It was returned to me today. Her scent lingers on it and I don’t know how to keep it that way for ever.
  • Gin is not a substitute for biscuits.
  • Did I mention I was craving biscuits??
  • For my US readers, biscuits are not the same as the floury, doughy scone-like things you call biscuits. I mean bourbons, rich tea, digestives, Nice, malted milk, ginger nuts, custard creams, shortbread type bakery goods that are so crunchy and sweet that you can dip in a cup of tea.

plate-of-biscuits

  • After 12 days straight of church-based duty I have enjoyed a day where I can stop today – some studying, some crochet, some time for meditation and prayer, some music and some recharging of spiritual batteries. I love my church life but sometimes I just need a day where I don’t have to be anxious about being on show to the public. Today was one of those days.
  • Finally, a quote:

strength

5 thoughts on “A few thoughts today…

Add yours

  1. Grief is a solitary and necessary thing. Faith can help but the bare bones of it (sorry, bad pun) is that our brains are wired to make sense of our world So we look for constancy and patterns which include our loved ones. We fool ourselves into thinking where we are, what we see, those who are around us, all these things will be here forever. I see it as a coping mechanism, because watching and acknowledging constant change is damn scary. So when someone passes, especially if they are so close they form a pillar of our existence, our brains have to rewire themselves to create a new, if false, construct of our reality. …. IMO
    And biscuits (I think the US equivalent is a cookie) are an essential in our house. As I read those lines I had my face wrapped round a freshly dipped Bourbon and a sweet milky coffee.
    The Metoffice and my bunyon say no to snow. Should fall south of Birmingham, South Wales etc. sub zero tonight but mild tomorrow but not in our neck of the woods.

    Like

    1. You’re right about finding patterns and trying to make sense of the world around us. It’s part of the human condition I suppose, but that doesn’t make it any easier when your heart is breaking for someone.

      On the biscuit front – success!! I went foraging in the deepest, darkest, deepest cupboard (the corner cupboard over the the fridge) this afternoon and found a box of shortbread that I’d put away for Christmas and then forgot where I’d stashed it. RESULT! The biscuit drama is over for now but I don’t think they’ll last until payday when we can go shopping again. Oh well. As the saying goes “a bird in the hand” and all that. I suppose you could apply that to biscuits too?

      And still no snow. Gritters were busy on the M62 on the drive over to Todmorden tonight for band but no sign of even a frost yet. Hey ho Spring will be here soon hurrah!!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

