Wednesday Hodgepodge – 2nd April


Here are my answers to this week’s questions. Answer on your own blog, then add your link at the end of Joyce’s post (click badge below to go to the host site).

020514_2017_WednesdayHo1.jpg
1. Since the questions posted on the first day of April it seemed only right to ask-when was the last time you did something foolish?  If you can’t answer that one, try this one-when was the last time someone fooled you?

I felt pretty foolish on Sunday morning whilst leading worship in my church. I am fairly new to leading and am still finding my feet but on Sunday – for some daft reason – I tried to be bolder when saying hello and welcome to everyone. I bounced out to the front of the congregation and began saying “hello everyone and welcome to our service this morning, isn’t it a lovely day….” and so on while everyone was still chatting their pre-service conversations, only to be drowned out by the congregation all shouting at me that they couldn’t hear me because – duh – I’d forgotten to pick up the microphone. It wasn’t really all that bad but as it came as I was trying to break the ice to begin the service I felt a tad foolish because we had to begin again. Oops!

Just on April Fool’s Day, of all the jests and hazes I read about yesterday my favourite was from the UK Cop Humour page on Facebook where they ran this story:

From today, any offenders who hand themselves in to Police, will not face conviction due to a new Government initiative to reduce crime levels.

“The Adults Potential Rehabilitation Initiative for Long-term Forfeiture Of Offences for Life Scheme is running for a very limited time trial and we encourage offenders to take advantage of it today,” a Home Office spokesman said. 

Love it!!

2. What’s the last biography or non-fiction book you’ve read? Was it any good?

Well, strictly speaking the last non-fiction book I read was the Bible but for the purposes of this question I am not going to count that because I read that quite a lot.

I do quite like reading poetry books – any compilations on a particular theme or by a particular poet, and one of the best I read recently was “If I Can Stop One Heart From Breaking” by Emily Dickinson:

If I can stop one heart from breaking,

I shall not live in vain;

If I can ease one life the aching,

Or cool one pain,

Or help one fainting robin

Unto his nest again,

I shall not live in vain.

 I love the way this poem speaks of hope and of purpose for life, and has helped me recently when I began to feel very down about things.

3. Garlic-friend or foe? What’s your favourite dish made with garlic?

I am a friend, most definitely! I think garlic can be added to most dishes (except on cornflakes perhaps…) and I love things like garlic mushrooms, cheesy garlic bread (especially the one made at the create your own counter at Asda), my three-bean soup which is made with (surprisingly) three different types of beans, chorizo sausage and added garlic. Delish!!

4. Several spring flower festivals happen in the US during the month of April. Of those listed which would you most like to see in person…The Skagit Tulip Festival in Skagit Washington, The Dogwood Arts Festival in Knoxville Tennessee, The North Carolina Azalea Festival in Wilmington North Carolina, or Daffodil Festival Weekend on Nantucket Island Massachusetts?

Oooh I would love to visit the USA and visit all of those places anyway, but as my favourite flower is the daffodil, so I would opt for the Daffodil Festival Weekend in Massachusetts please. Please!

5. How do you choose which blogs to read?  What is something that will make you stop and read every time? Something that makes you say, ‘eh, think I’ll skip this and move on to the next’?

It depends – I have my favourites where I have got to know the bloggers themselves and so I always like to read what they are up to and their thoughts on things, but when choosing new ones to read I tend to go for the “uncluttered” blogs, where their message is easy to access and to understand. I don’t like reading blogs that are pale writing on a black background as they play havoc with my eyes so white on black is a definite no-no for me. I don’t like blogs that have lots of badges or “awards” in the side panels either. They are too distracting and it makes me think that the author is trying to big themselves up without having much to support it. Some do have the quality of content but not everyone and I just don’t like them. I do like to see recognisable meme badges though so I can surf from blog to blog on the same theme, for example the A-Z April meme.

6. April is National Mathematics Education Month so tell us, when did you last use maths?

Yesterday morning – I counted 40 boxes of loose change with my friend Paul to be paid into our church bank account. We have a coin counter, but it had a bit of a spasm and started counting coins when there weren’t any there so between us we had to tot up what had already been counted and work out where it had gone wrong. Headache….boohoo!!

7. In honour of the A-Z challenge which kicked off on April 1…choose one word beginning with the letter A to describe your yesterday.

Astonishing.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

At the beginning of March I led a Sunday School session at our church and we learned about the parable of the sower. To help the children understand the idea of sowing seeds (and because it was an excuse to get dirty!) we planted peas with them and they all got to take them home to look after. It’s been a bit of a talking point since then and it has been great to hear the children talking about how their own pea plants are growing. It really seems to have struck a chord with them!

Here are three photos showing the progress of my own peas since then. I have had to re-pot them this week because they got too big. I can’t wait to see how the peas taste later in the summer!!

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 2nd April

Add yours

  1. Forty Boxes of loose change???? I’ve done my time…at various times…as a teller/accountant at church and we’ve had to count offerings that were mostly in change from kid’s events. Bless you!

    Like

  2. Counting forty boxes of change would make me bonkers. When there’s that much its easy to lose your place and have to keep counting over and over. I love Emily Dickinson too : ) Have a wonderful week!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

