Wednesday Hodgepodge


If you’re playing along in the Hodgepodge today, add your link to the party by clicking the graphic below and then go say hi to your neighbours.  Here are my answers:

1.  April showers bring May flowers or so the saying goes. Are you blooming where you’re planted as we begin the month of May? 

Literally? Yes, we have had a lovely run of Spring weather here in Manchester. Well, we did until today when we had a torrential downpour this afternoon that felt like a cloud had burst!

Figuratively? Yes to that too! I feel that I am finally getting to the stage where I am happy in my own skin and I am coming into my own. For the first time in my whole life I am happy with who I am and have accepted my abilities and my limitations. I am happy to stretch myself now and again but I don’t have the urge to set myself massively impossible goals just to prove something to someone. Life is still as hard as ever, but my outlook has changed and I suppose you could say that I am beginning to bloom too.

2.  On a scale of 1-10, with 1 being no big deal, and 10 being full scale panic, rank your fear of spiders. 

I would place my attitude to the usual run of the mill house spiders we get at about a 3 or 4 (so long as I don’t have to move them out of the bath), but when it comes to tarantulas then I’m an all-out 15. We were at a May Day fun day a couple of years ago where they had some birds of prey to hold, and some snakes (yuk) and some *shudder* tarantulas. I had gone off to look at something else and Ethan went to look at the spiders with Kevin and unbeknownst to me, they let him hold one. I came back to them to see this HUMUNGOUS beast crawl up from his hand, all up his arm and tickle his neck. I was so scared I literally went cold and couldn’t breathe. I think I managed a squeak at some point in my panic and all he could do was laugh and say “don’t worry Mum, it’s nice and warm and furry just like a teddy bear!”. Argh!!! Whenever I see a photo of that day I go back into that freezing cold state of panic just thinking about that thing *shudder*.

3. May is National Salad Month (who knew???)…besides lettuce, what are two must have ingredients in your favourite salad? 

I love salad and I love cucumber and tomato in mine. Unfortunately my biliary system can’t cope with too much cucumber and my overly sensitive mouth can only cope with tomatoes when they are at room temperature (or warmer) so I usually opt for celery for crunch and radish for taste in my salads now.

4.  I mentioned on my  blog last week that my Daughter1 will be moving to Washington State after she is married. Of the following sites in the Northwest, which would you most like to see in person-Crater Lake (Oregon), Seattle (Washington), Vancouver (British Columbia), San Juan Islands (Washington),  Mt Rainier (Washington), Oregon Coast (Oregon), Mt St Helen’s ((Washington), or Olympic National Park (Washington)?

Oh wow I would love to see them ALL!! Top of my list would be the Olympic National Park, swiftly followed by Seattle then Vancouver. Not sure about the other places but I’d love to see Oregon at some point too.

5.  This coming weekend marks the 140th running of the Kentucky Derby…when did you last race (literally or figuratively) to cross a finish line?

Yesterday. I had a mammoth experience Monday and Tuesday this week involving a mammoth journey on my own to London to be filmed in a TV quiz show. You may know that I am not very good on my own and my confidence has been shot to pieces in recent years, so to make this journey and go through this experience was a huge milestone for me. Hence my comments in point 1 above. The experience I had earlier this week represents the change I have been going through recently and just how far I have come to become my own self.

The crossing the finishing line part was getting on that train on the final leg of my journey back home. Carrying two VERY heavy bags (which reminds me, we simply must get a suitcase on wheels…) and journeying from Manchester Piccadilly to Euston by train, Euston to St Pancras by tube and St Pancras to Elstree & Borehamwood by train, having walked miles underground between stations in central London and all with no ticket (there was a system failure and my tickets couldn’t be printed in Manchester so I had a Virgin trains post it note to get me through the ticket barriers and on the tube, yeah that was fun…) and getting a taxi to the hotel, I was more than ready for my bed Monday night.

I had to be up at 6am yesterday because we were being picked up at 7.15am but because I was worried about the early start I didn’t really sleep and ended up getting up at just after 5am. And then there was the journey to the TV studios, the filming of the quiz (great fun, but can’t tell you about it just yet. You’ll have to wait until it is screened later in the year) before making the reverse journey. Now, because of the early pickup there was no time to have breakfast at the hotel (they only started serving at 7am) and by the time I got to the studio I was not really in the mood for food anyway. Once the whole briefing, hair and makeup, change of clothes, get into the studio and be filmed for a couple of hours got underway there was no time for food, and once it was all over we were whisked back to the train station again just in time to catch the train. I lugged my baggage all the way back through the mainline stations, the connecting tunnels on the Tube (and by the way, there was a Tube strike yesterday so I didn’t even know if I could get it anyway) and got back to Euston for the final leg. I had the dithers by the time I landed on the concourse at about 2pm, literally shaking from low blood sugar and all the effort of carrying the bags and all that walking so I grabbed a sandwich and a banana to get onto the train home. I had to get to the furthest platform (typical) with it all and so when I FINALLY got on the train I felt like I’d crossed the finishing line of a marathon.

In the interests of completion, I did cheat a little because my reserved seat was booked on carriage B, but by the time I’d got to the platform and saw the train my adrenaline evaporated and I could only manage to get past the four First Class carriages, coach F and coach E before my strength deserted me so I got on a coach D. I just couldn’t manage the extra two coaches, but hey, a finishing line is a finishing line right?!!

6. What is something little you love?

Peanut M&Ms.

7. Would you say you are more of a visual, auditory, or kinesthetic learner? 

It depends what it is, but I think I am a combination of visual and kinaesthetic learner. I like to see diagrams but I also like to do things myself to learn how to do them.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I booked onto my next Open University module today. I am nearly at the end of the History of Medicine and Society module (just got some coursework to finish, one more assignment and then the exam to do) and I am looking forward to October when I can start my Inside Music module.

 

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

