Budget Gourmet – Sausage Casserole


You know when you want something tasty and filling but there’s not a lot in the cupboard? Well, try this one for size. It will feed four healthy appetites, and can stretch easily:

  • 8 sausages, any flavour
  • a chopped onion
  • a tin of baked beans
  • a tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 2 tins of new potatoes
  • chicken stock cube
  • a little water
  • seasoning to your own taste (salt, pepper etc)
Nice portion of sausage casserole....delish!!

Nice portion of sausage casserole….delish!!

 

  1. Cut the sausages into bite-sized chunks; dice the onion.
  2. Fry the sausages in a bit of oil (or butter, or margarine) until browned a little, add the onion and fry til softened.
  3. Add the beans, tomatoes and potatoes.
  4. Add the chicken stock cube dissolved in a little water (I usually put the stock cube and water into the bean tin to rinse it out so I kill two birds with one stone).
  5. Season to taste – depending on the sausages you used and the saltiness of the beans you might not want to add any extra salt.
  6. Simmer until the sausage pieces are cooked through and the potatoes are hot in the middle (usually about another 10 or 15 minutes). The longer you let it simmer the thicker the sauce will become as the beans start to break down. You might want to add a little bit more water if it gets too stodgy for your taste.
  7. Serve with bread and butter.

Options:

  1. Flavour will change with whichever sausages you use. I used Italian ones tonight which have garlic and chilli in them already, but I’ve used plain pork before now and added garlic and chilli powder at the frying stage.
  2. This recipe easily stretches to feed more if you need to – just add more sausages, another tin of beans or tomatoes, or more potatoes if you have them.
  3. You can omit the tinned potatoes and serve the casserole instead with mashed potatoes or rice. I haven’t tried it with pasta shells yet but I probably will do as and when the need arises. You will need shells so as to catch all the juices.
  4. Optional extras: you could add chopped courgettes, mushrooms or chopped peppers to this, or use leeks instead of onions. It’s a lovely versatile recipe and is a winner with my hungry lot.

It is difficult to price this recipe because so many of the ingredients are variable, but as a guideline if you use “standard” ingredients you could make this for around a fiver if you use Richmond sausages and supermarket own brand beans, tomatoes and potatoes.

Enjoy!

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Budget Gourmet – Sausage Casserole

  1. I have made similar with just two differences. I boil sausage first as that gets out a large percentage of animal fat(had my triple by-pass 2006) then brown them up. I use fresh potatoes as canned food has so much salt. Of course go ahead and use canned tomatoes. Will put this on next week’s dinner list. Maybe throw in handful of peas .

    Like

  2. sterlingsop says:

    Good idea! We didn’t have any fresh potatoes in (it’s that time of the month where there’s too much time at the end of the pay) so we’re just using up what’s in the cupboard and the freezer. Peas would add that bit of sweetness to the sauce – maybe add corn as well? It’s certainly a versatile recipe to adapt to suit 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

