Wednesday Hodgepodge – 7th May


Thank you Joyce for another super Hodgepodge!!

If you click on the button below you can join us in our Hodgepodge endeavours today. Come on in, you know you want to!

Click here to be taken to the host site

 

1. Share something you appreciate (or something you appreciated as you were growing up) about your mother.

My mum has a very good knack of keeping things real, and has an amazing grounding ability when things have a danger of becoming emotionally out of control. She is brilliant at cutting through waffle and bluff and seeing things just how they are. She is also brilliant when there are major crises going on, for example when my Gran died a couple of months ago.

2. A quote most commonly ascribed to Plato reads-“Necessity is the mother of invention.” When did this last play out in your own experience?

I very stupidly set off on a hike on Saturday with little (no) preparation or protection. Half way up the hill and being extremely hot (burnt) I had to fashion some sort of head protection out of my hoodie. I took a selfie to show you… you can already see the burn beginning on my face here. Rocking the Lawrence of Arabia look!!

Here's me taking a selfie and rocking the Lawrence of Arabia look with my hoodie round my head. It was a bit hot!! (You can probably see my red face here too. I though this was because of the exertion but as of bedtime tonight I can attest to it being  most definitely sunburn).
Here’s me taking a selfie and rocking the Lawrence of Arabia look with my hoodie round my head. It was a bit hot!! (You can probably see my red face here too. I though this was because of the exertion but as of bedtime tonight I can attest to it being most definitely sunburn).

 

3. Share one of the earliest memories you have from childhood.

My earliest memory is of being around 18 months old and having my stomach pumped in hospital (I guess the trauma of that is why I can remember something from such an early age!). The next memory I have is sitting on my tricycle and miserably kicking the wall in front of our next door neighbour’s garden, grumbling to myself that “I wish I was 5!!”.

4. When did you last ‘hit the mother lode’? What was it?

I am a big fan of quizzes and I love testing my general knowledge. Last week I filmed a TV quiz show (which will be on screen at the end of this year) and without giving much of the game away I felt I hit the mother lode when it came to the depths I plumbed to drag out bits of trivia in my brain. Very pleased with my little self!

5. What is/was your favourite dish mom made? Do you make that dish for your family/friends now that you’re all grown up?

My mum’s cheese and onion pie is my all time favourite dish she has ever made. Right throughout our childhood it was a favourite, and now as adults, it’s one that she makes for us when we all get together as a family. I don’t know why it’s so good – maybe it’s the pastry? The balance of cheese to onion ratio? The occasional addition of bacon? The tomato soup we drown it in? The mash? The peas? – but whatever it is, it is one of those things that instantly bonds us and is the ultimate comfort food in my family. I have made my own now and again and while it is just as tasty, it just doesn’t have that emotional link and is nowhere as good as my mum’s.

6. Mother May I? was at one time a popular children’s game. It required no equipment or parts to play. What was your favourite childhood game to play where you could just turn up and play-no gear needed?

Best game for me was “Crocodiles and Horses” with my Dad. It was a kind of creeping up and tagging type game where Dad was the sleeping crocodile and then he converted (as Dads do) into a horse. Best game with other kids was Ralivo. It was hide and seek on a grander scale which involved teams and was over a bigger area.

7. Which TV mom (past or present) is your favourite, and why?

My favourite, FAVOURITE is Sheldon’s mum in The Big Bang Theory. She has some classic lines (“Men always do the opposite of what you tell them. I still say if my brother Stumpy hadn’t put his hand in the chipper when I told him not to we’d still be calling him Edward!”) and has a knack of reducing Sheldon back to being a little boy with just one withering glance.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Manchester City are only a couple of days away from the end of the Premier League, with a win on the cards but it’s going down to the wire. Again. It’s a case of we’ve got to win both our remaining games to make absolutely sure of taking the league, but if we don’t win them both then it comes down to goal differences and relying on others to lose theirs. Nerve-shredding stuff…

 

 

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 7th May

Add yours

  1. Cheese and onion pie sounds delish! And of course bacon makes everything better : ) Glad you survived the hike! Luckily you had a way to improvise. Enjoy your day!

    Like

    1. ARGH!!! Jealous muchly 🙂 I’ll be watching on the telly box tonight (not sure if it’s on Sky on Sunday) but fingernails are all primed and ready to be bitten down lol!

      Like

  2. I too love Sheldon…he carries that program all by himself!
    Love your quick thinking to keep from getting burned to a crisp out on your walk…and love your #1 description of your mother.

    Well done.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

