Super Sunday


Good grief, it’s been a packed one today!

Up early to see Ethan and my Dad off on their sponsored bike ride from Manchester to Liverpool – the weather was glorious at 7am today by the way – and then a couple of hours revising before I got things ready for church.

This is my son Ethan and my Dad Derek early this morning before they set off on their 40 mile bike ride from Manchester to Liverpool. They look a bit happy don't they?!
This is my son Ethan and my Dad Derek early this morning before they set off on their 40 mile bike ride from Manchester to Liverpool. They look a bit happy don’t they?!

 

And this is my son at the end of his ride. It only took them about 4 hours to complete the whole journey which for a 15 year old lad and a 65 year old granddad isn't bad going is it?
And this is my son at the end of his ride. It only took them about 4 hours to complete the whole journey which for a 15 year old lad and a 65 year old granddad isn’t bad going is it?

My morning wasn’t as energetic as theirs. I am in charge of the audio-visual stuff for our services and so my Sunday morning job is to load up the right music for the hymns/songs and anything that we want to put on the screen. Usually it’s just a bit of housekeeping and notes at certain points through the service to highlight the changes, but today there were a couple of pictures that Eddie wanted to punctuate his sermon with so I just put them on a slideshow for him and made sure that all the music tracks had the right number of verses before I went out for the service.

Busy before the service once I’d got there too – putting up the hymn numbers (in those wooden holders on the wall you see in most churches – and I’m scared stiff of ladders! It’s usually my Dad’s job but he was busy raising money for the NSPCC on his bike this morning so I did it), finding the page numbers for the Bible readings to put on the screen, hooking up the TV to the amp (it got wet in the rain yesterday bringing it back over from the hall for Messy Church so had to let it dry off overnight), hooking the laptop to the amp and the TV, setting the playlist going to set the atmosphere before the service and generally busying myself about talking to people and having a laugh with them before the service.

Everything went well in the service and then there was a bit of a break for coffee whilst I waited for the family to arrive for a 2pm baptism. My Mum and my friend Paul helped me set up for that – getting the water (warm) for the baby in the jug ready for pouring into the font, opening the font (heavy lid…), candles, oil, towel, service slides on the screen and all that goes with it. The baptism was good, although it was a bit rowdy. Nice family, and the baby girl had a beautiful little white dress on which made her look so cute.

Back home at about 3 o’clock for a quick bacon butty and then back to the books for yet more revision. I’m at the “rewriting my notes of my notes into mind-maps before the essay planning” stage. I can’t wait for this whole process to be over now. I have absolutely loved this course and I have loved gaining the knowledge from it, but by eck, I’ll be glad to wake up next Wednesday morning and not have to worry about studying for a while!!

I just wish all this information on my mind-maps would simply stay in my head. It's as if I am reading things for the first time every time I try and condense and summarise everything. Bah! Roll on exam day...
I just wish all this information on my mind-maps would simply stay in my head. It’s as if I am reading things for the first time every time I try and condense and summarise everything. Bah! Roll on exam day…

My day has been a busy one. A nice one, but busy! Hope your day has been a fruitful and fulfilling one.

 

 

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

