Wednesday Hodgepodge


1. What news story are you following right now?

There are a few that have captured my imagination/horror/disgust/disbelief but the biggest one is, like Joyce, the girls who have been kidnapped in Nigeria. I cannot believe how so many children can be taken like that and the authorities have done very little to try and rescue them, or even to allow others to go in and help find them. Also, I’m following the story about Rolf Harris who is appearing in court on sexual assault charges dating back to the 1970s. Stomach churning if true, stomach churning if not true that someone so high profile can have his reputation and private life splashed throughout the media and millions of children are left questioning their childhood.

2. What’s the last thing you wanted but didn’t get?

There’s plenty on my “want” list that is still in the “not gonna get it” pile, but the last thing that genuinely made me want to cry when I didn’t get it was Sunday dinner this weekend. I had been in church since 10am that morning, and after all my things there I had to wait at church until 2pm for a baptism. By the time it was all over I was so hungry I was starting to shake and I asked Kevin if we had the funds for a carvery meal. The answer was “no”…

(For non-UK readers, a carvery meal is roast meats, vegetables, potatoes etc that is served buffet style in pubs, usually a chain. They are relatively cheap and make a nice treat to have a proper roast dinner without all the hassle of making it and all the washing up afterwards).

3. May 28th is National Hamburger Day…when did you last have a hamburger? Other than your own kitchen or BBQ grill, where is your favourite place to go for a hamburger? And for all you non-meat eaters out there…when you’re invited to a cookout what is one side dish you hope is on the menu?

I can’t remember the last time I had a hamburger, but it would probably have been a McDonalds. We don’t have much choice here in the UK – it’s either Maccy D’s or Burger King (which I’m not too keen on).

4. How have your priorities changed over time?

I think my biggest change of priority as I’ve got older is my faith. As a young(er) person it used to be something that was on the back burner, almost taken for granted. But as I’ve matured it has become more of a priority. I can’t say that it was a purposeful change; it kinda crept up on me and is now probably the most important aspect of my life.

5. What’s a favourite memory with your grandparents?

Baking with my Gran. We would run up to her house after church on a Sunday morning (she lived about 200 yards away) and she would be in the kitchen doing her weekly baking, which we loved helping her with. She taught me so much in that time in the kitchen – and not all of it was about how to get your cakes to rise!

6. On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being fantastic!), how good are you at multitasking? Share an example.

My multi-tasking skills get me into trouble so much…sigh… I can usually juggle half a dozen things or more at a time, but the more I juggle the less “good” I am at it. On the flip side, the less I juggle the more I look for to multi-task with because I can’t do just one thing at once.

Example: revising for my exam next Tuesday and making notes about mental health in the 16th Century I am checking my phone, looking on Facebook, emptying the dishwasher, have TV on quietly in the background and monitoring Ethan doing his homework upstairs. Have I taken anything in from my revision? Probably not a lot. Do I really need to check my phone/Facebook? Not at all. Does the dishwasher really need to be done RIGHT NOW?? Etc etc….

In justification, I am a woman, and women are notorious for being able to multitask smoothly (holding babies, cooking, supervising other kids whilst talking on the phone) so I don’t think I’m unusual at all. Just being a woman!

So, my score would be 10 out of 10 for juggling, about 4 out of 10 for success.

7. How would you summarize your highs and lows for the month of May?

Highs: I got my highest mark for my OU module today (hurrah!); Emma was home for a few days (hurrah!!); Ethan and my Dad completed a 40 mile bike ride from Manchester to Liverpool in aid of the NSPCC last weekend; Kevin has repainted all the gloss paint on our landing and stairs and it is so new it still squeaks when we rub it; my pea plants are surviving against the odds; I have managed to work about 22 hours this last two weeks which will help keep the wolf from the door a little; and City won the Barclay’s Premier League.

Lows: We finally scattered my Gran’s ashes a couple of weeks ago; Ethan fell of his bike on his way to school earlier this month and bashed his head and his knee; I have had hand, foot and mouth disease which laid me low for nearly a fortnight (horrible virus, and I’ve still got unhealed blisters on my hands and on my scalp); we didn’t have enough money to get away in our caravan for a few days (again…); and we have had another death in the family and my Mum lost another sister last night.

Summary – it’s been high, and it’s been low.

8. Random thought for today:

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge

  1. debby9972 says:

    That is a sweet memory of baking with your grandmother. I always enjoyed that too!

    Like

  2. auntyuta says:

    Whenever I come across one of your hodgepodges, dear Pam, I am amazed about all the juggling in your daily life. I think you deserve more than 4 out of 10!

    Like

  3. Andy says:

    It appears your random thought has been censored?!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Ah….you spotted that….*blush* I’m blaming that on my complete inability to focus at the moment! Got a big exam on Tuesday and my head is full of revision stuff and I didn’t proofread my post properly before I published. Oops!

      Like

  4. shortybear says:

    Praying for you, and Ethan.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

