When Worlds Collide


You ever have those days when your worlds collide? No, not in the metaphysical or the quantum physical sense (I’m not that clever…) but in the “overlapping of spheres” kind of sense?

Well I did today and it was a rather nice experience!

As fellow bloggers you will perhaps understand how thrilling it was for me to not only meet a blog buddy in the flesh, but to be able to have a cup of coffee and a chat about this and that, life in general which is not quite the same as it is in our virtual world here in Blogland. We met because after a plea from him for help with supplying some hiking equipment for his daughter to take part in a Duke of Edinburgh’s Award hike next weekend, and I was able to help out with a few bits and pieces for her. It was lovely to be in a position to help out and to meet him to do the handover this morning – lucky he only lives a few miles away!!

When worlds collide - online-life meets real-life!
When worlds collide – online-life meets real-life!

Like you, I have online friends from all over the world – literally!! – and what really struck me this morning was that the connections we make on here are as valid and as real as real-life friendships. We do share some of our troubles and thoughts, and we give advice to each other or simply commiserate when things are going badly for us and I have to be honest and tell you that my blog buddies have been a wonderful support for me over the years, but to be able to sit and have a natter was a fantastic experience today.

So today my blogland/online world collided with my family world and my church world by meeting Dave, but what’s more remarkable is that yesterday I experienced another collision of my online and real world spheres when I received a beautiful and thoughtful card from one of my blog buddies who lives in the USA. I feel very blessed to be in Mary’s thoughts and prayers as it is, but the fact that she has taken the trouble to write to me and send me a card has really moved me and has brought home to me the power of our human friendships, no matter where in the world we are.

My lovely card all the way from Pennsylvania
My lovely card all the way from Pennsylvania

Thank you Mary for your lovely card, I really do appreciate the trouble you took to write it and send it to me. God bless you xx

Lessons learned from colliding worlds:

  • the world is smaller than you think
  • online is just as real as “real” life
  • friendships and relationships can be nurtured in remarkably sparse conditions
  • no matter what we blog about, underneath it all we are just people
  • connecting with people by your blog is meaningful and has the power to touch people’s lives, so be true and be honest and you will find it more rewarding than you could ever have imagined when you set out on your bloggy path

 

 

4 thoughts on “When Worlds Collide

Add yours

  1. This is a very heart warming post, Pam. Thank you so much for writing about your meeting with Dave and also for the conclusion of your post about lessons learned. I do like what you say about lessons learned. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  2. It was a huge pleasure for me too.
    I especially like your last point and may well ruthlessly steal it for a future blog.
    Here’s to the next time.

    Like

  3. How fun to get to meet a blog friend in person! It’s an honor to be your friend, Pam. I’m glad you enjoyed getting the card.

    Mary in PA

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

