Bulgar Wheat Salad and Chicken


I had a yearning for something fresh and tasty for tea tonight so I decided on making one of our family’s favourite summer dishes of bulgar wheat salad with chicken drumsticks.

If you fancy doing the same, here’s how:

Take a 500g pack of bulgar wheat (£1) and put it in a bowl. Mix up about half a pint of chicken stock (you could use vegetable stock or plain water if you prefer) and pour it over the bulgar wheat so that it covers it by about 1cm (don’t worry, it will all work out I promise!). Cover the bowl with a clean tea-towel and set it aside to absorb.

DSC_0333

While that is doing, chop up 300g cherry tomatoes (90p) and a cucumber (90p) into little diced pieces and add them to the bowl when most of the liquid has been absorbed by the bulgar wheat (about 10-15 minutes or so). Chop up a bunch of mint (85p) and add that too. If you can get hold of a bunch of coriander add that, but the supermarket didn’t have any today so I made do with a squeeze of “lazy coriander” out of a tube which did just as well as the fresh stuff would have done. You can leave it out if you don’t like it, but we like things a little earthy and spicy so I added some for my boys today.

DSC_0332Now comes the juicy bit! Slosh on a drizzle of olive oil and add plenty of lemon juice. I used the supermarket’s own brand bottled lemon juice (50p for a 250ml bottle, but will last for months) and season with salt.

Give it all a good mix and taste it to see if the lemon juice/salt needs adjusting. Set it aside to let all the juices and flavours develop while you cook the chicken.

DSC_0334The chicken is really simple: Take a pack of chicken drumsticks (today I got 7 in a pack which cost me £1.98) and put in a bowl. Sprinkle over a sachet of Nando’s chicken rub (95p….and other chicken seasoning sachets are available!) and put them in the oven, approx 190/Gas 7 until the juices run clear when you pierce the thickest part – approx 25 mins.

Serve with crusty rolls if required – which I forgot because the smell of the chicken cooking was driving us all mad it was so nice! I just wanted to get it out on the plate and on my fork so forgot all about the bread rolls oops.

DSC_0335This amount of food served three of us easily. Half of the bulgar wheat salad is in the fridge for lunches tomorrow and we shared the drumsticks between us with no leftovers.

Total cost of all prepared food = approx £6

Cost of meal = approx £4 (with £2 left for tomorrow)

Cost per portion = approx £1.35

It is a low cost, healthy and tasty dinner that is really simple to make and can be adapted to suit your own tastes. Why not try it with chunks of Feta cheese and olives through it? Or serve the bulgar wheat with other meats, perhaps with a barbecue. You could even substitute the bulgar wheat for cous cous if you don’t like the slighty nutty taste. My preference for this flavour combinations is the bulgar wheat, but why not have a go yourself and let me know what you think? I’d love to hear from you.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Bulgar Wheat Salad and Chicken

Add yours

  1. Wow! That looks so good! I don’t have any bulgar but I will remember to get some next time I go shopping and will try this.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

