Northumberland Part Two


It has been a gloriously long day today, with our alarms going off at 3.30am for a 3.45am get up. I had planned to go and catch the sunrise on the beach at Bamburgh with Kevin this morning, and we were going to do a bit of experimental photography while we were there.

Oh boy!

We got some absolutely beautiful shots and I managed to get two decent time lapse sequences of the dawn breaking and the sunrise over the Farne Islands, just off the Northumberland coast. I have tried to upload them to share with you, but as wi-fi is a bit intermittent I might have to wait until I get home to share them properly.

For now though, here are some of my favourite shots taken this morning.

The sun rising over the Farne Islands

The sun rising over the Farne Islands

Our beach setup to take the time lapse video

Our beach setup to take the time lapse video

 

It was so worth the effort of getting up and out so early today. Not only for the photos but for the spiritual experience of sitting on a beach in the shadow of a 1200 year old fortress, with the tide coming in and the sun coming up. Priceless.

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Northumberland Part Two

  1. auntyuta says:

    Sounds great, Pam. Your shots are lovely too. What a wonderful experience. The weekend after next we’re going to stay at one beach for two nights. I hope I’ll manage to get up early to see the sun rise! 🙂

    Like

  2. Beautiful! I’m so glad you were able to take a trip this summer!

    Mary in PA

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

