Word Crimes


I suppose like most bloggers, I’m a bit of word enthusiast (understatement of the year), and grammar and spelling are important to me.

You might agree with me, and don’t you find that spelling and grammar seem to be way down the list of people’s priorities now, especially on social media? A quick example is yesterday I read a status that claimed that the prime minister had upped the terror alert level to server in the UK. I didn’t realise that our government servers were open to attack by terrorists – what would it mean, that our TV would go off? That our tax records would be hacked? That our bank accounts would all be drained by overseas terrorists who hack into our national servers??

It took me ages to work out that “server” was actually supposed to be “severe”…

Anyway, here’s a little video for you that my daughter shared with me this evening. I hope you like it. It kinda sums up evryfin i h8 abt online txtspk. U wiv me?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Word Crimes

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

