Daybook Entry – 6th September


021114_2314_DaybookEntr1.jpgFOR TODAY

Outside my window… the weather is drizzly, overcast, grey clouds and warm winds. Autumn is here!

I am thinking… about how complicated things are at the moment. Complicated emotionally I mean. There are lots of things that are sapping my emotional energy just now and it’s hard for me to pull myself along.

I am thankful… for the unconditional love and support of my husband, who is also going through the emotional wringer at the moment as well.

In the kitchen… Kevin’s cooking tonight and I think we’re having pasta Bolognese. With extra cheese. Yummy!

I am wearing… comfy shorts and pink polo shirt.

I am creating… I’m working on building my stock for my craft stall in a couple of weeks’ time, and I am collecting ideas for writing so you could say I am creating notes on characters and scenes.

I am going… to take Ethan’s girlfriend home shortly.

I am wondering… why Strictly isn’t back tonight?? I am so disappointed that it isn’t on until tomorrow. Major sulk.

I am reading… “Salem Falls” by Jodi Piccoult.

I am hoping… for a miracle on the financial front. Things are getting tougher and it is extremely stressful. I have been looking for paid work but there’s nothing forthcoming as yet.

I am looking forward to… things getting better.

I am learning… to bite my tongue and keep my trap shut about certain things.

I am thinking… a lot about what it means to be married. Not just from my own point of view but from the perspective of older people who have been married for 50 years or so and where there is illness and infirmity.  I have been thinking about how far the marriage vows have to be taken, and is it possible to take them too far. For example, the vow is to look after each other “in sickness and in health” but what happens when one of the couple is too ill to be looked after by the other, and where professional nursing care is more appropriate for them. What happens to those vows then? Does that promise mean that you yourself have to do the caring, or is it OK to make sure that that care is provided, even if it is by a team of professionals and not you yourself personally? At what point does the line between marital duty and realism get drawn?

I am praying for… my parents in law; my friend Jane who is now halfway through her chemo treatment; all the kids I know who have gone back to school this week and especially those who have gone for the first time and found it difficult; my husband.

Around the house… laundry is mostly done, things are pretty tidy, kitchen is clean, table is clear (for once!)

I am pondering… which new patterns to try out for hats to sell.

A favourite quote for today… “Treat each day as if it was your last day on earth because one day, you’ll be right”.

One of my favourite things… is the feel of yarn and crochet hook in my fingers.

A few plans for the rest of the week: Church tomorrow, Stay and Play on Monday, back to Music Centre routine from Tuesday evening.

A peek into my day…

laundry

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 6th September

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

