Wednesday Hodgepodge – 17th September


Welcome to this week’s edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge. Answer the questions on your own blog then add your link at the end of Joyce’s post.  Be sure to go say hi to all your friends and neighbours…or at least to the blogger who linked before you!

Here we go-

1. (Joyce is) celebrating a birthday this week so a question relating to aging feels appropriate. Douglas MacArthur is quoted as saying, ‘You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt;  as young as your self-confidence, as old as your fear; as young as your hope, as old as your despair.’ Would you agree? If not, why not?

We have a saying here in Lancashire: “I’m older than my teeth and younger than my hair”. I think it speaks for itself!

Personally, I prefer my saying to Douglas MacArthur’s. He has tortured his simile almost to death and he basically says the same as mine. Come on Dougie, sort your words out pal!

2. What remarkable feat, interesting piece of trivia, or historical event occurred on your birth day and month? Not necessarily your same birthyear, just the same date/same month.

I share my birthday with Princess Diana, although she was born 10 years before me. It saddens me to know that I am now older than her…

Something that I’ll always remember is on my birthday in 1997 Hong Kong was handed back to China after more than 150 years of British rule. I remember the ceremonial handing over by the governor Chris Patten, and I remember all the hoo-hah about human rights and the despair of the Hong Kong people being handed over to a communist regime after the freedoms they enjoyed under the Brits.

3. Describe a time or circumstance where you wanted to ‘have your cake and eat it too.’

This is one of those phrases that doesn’t make sense to me. How can you be expected NOT to eat a piece of cake that you have hold of? I can’t imagine why anyone could be judged for wanting to eat a piece of cake rather than hold it and simply look at it!

4. What’s something you do that makes you feel young? Something that makes you feel old?

Making popcorn makes me feel like a kid again. Old? Wow, things like having to change my glasses whenever I want to read/crochet/walk in a straight line and making noises as I get up out of the chair.

5. When did you last do something that was ‘a piece of cake’?

This week. I have been given an order to make three baby blankets, which is something I have done quite a lot of in the past but I wanted to make them a little bit different to usual this time. I wanted to do a central panel that was different to the rest of them and so I searched out a couple of options to try. The one I liked the look of had the trickiest pattern, but when I tried it, it was easier than I thought and ended up a piece of cake to do.

6. Beef, wine, and cheese all improve with age. What else would you add to that list? (not necessarily food or beverage)

Musical instruments, particularly the voice of a piano (if it is well looked after) and my cornet, which has definitely been looked after properly!

7. If I were to have a giveaway when we hit Volume 200 in the Hodgepodge, what should I give away? By my calculations we’ll hit Volume 200 on November 26th, the day before Thanksgiving, which means whoever wins would have whatever it is by Christmas.

I would like to receive a gift basket of things that typify or signify your home town or state. It ties in with the Hodgepodge theme and is representative of you. If it was the other way round and I was doing it from my home town of Manchester I would include things like a Manchester tart, something made of cotton, an Oasis CD, a Roman coin, a Manchester City scarf and a model ship. I would love to receive something that tells me about your hometown in return.

8. Random thought for the day:

As you may know already (if you are regular reader of mine) we have been struggling financially for quite some time now and things have been really tough, especially the last couple of months. I have good news though, and that is that I have been offered a job this week. Hurrah!! I am overwhelmed by the speed it has happened and I am struggling to get my head round things, but basically I heard about it yesterday, made the necessary phone calls yesterday and today, and I am going for my induction on Friday with a view to start work next week. How’s that for having your prayers answered!

The job is cover supervision in the classroom for teachers who are absent, which is right up my street because it is in school setting once again. It will not be full time and I envisage it taking a couple of days each week, but that is quite enough for me at the minute. I’m not sure how my offal will respond to regular work, and because it is “on-call” so to speak, I can fit in my studies and church activities too which is GREAT!

 

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 17th September

Add yours

  1. Congrats on the job. Big hugs.
    2. The actual day of my birth was remarkably dull with only the award of Nobel prizes making the headlines. But two days later Harold Macmillan resigned as Prime Minister, exhausted by the Profumo affair, one would assume.
    4. Dancing with my youngest two kids (La Bomba this morning) and listening to young folk chunner on like they know the world and its most intricate workings and realising that I have books, a guitar and a few items of clothing that are older than them.

    Like

  2. So happy to hear about the job! Congratulations! I like the basket idea…a few people have suggested I do a ‘hodgepodge’ of things, one person said I should do 7 related items with a random #8 : ) I’ve got some ideas now!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

