Daybook Entry – 21st September 2014


021114_2314_DaybookEntr1.jpgFOR TODAY
Outside my window… a delicious Autumnal evening has given way to a chilly night. It’s one of those nights where frost is gently threatened and where ground mist in the morning is a distinct possibility.

I am thinking… about a couple of storylines I want to write up. Just thinking about the ins and outs of the story is entertaining enough, but to actually make anything of them is going to take a lot of disciplined writing and I’m not sure I have that. Yet.

I am thankful… that my son has had a great weekend away with school orienteering in the Lake District and is home safe. Well, if you don’t count the 6 wasp stings on his legs from when he crashed through a wasps nest in the dark. Ouch!

In the kitchen… we had a lovely meal tonight – steak pie, boiled potatoes in herb butter and steamed veg followed by home made apple pie (made by my Mum) and it was all delish.

I am wearing… several unexplained scratches on my face along with a fresh crop of painful spots on one cheek (why, WHY???!). Oh yes, and my sleepy clothes cos it’s bedtime again.

I am creating… three baby blankets for a lady at church. I’m doing two pink and one blue one for three babies due in her family soon. I love doing baby blankets because they represent such hope for the future and the celebration of new life.

I am going… to work this week. Yes that’s right, WORK. I had my induction on Friday and I have been booked in for two days later this week doing classroom cover in the school where I do exam invigilation. I have a zero-hours contract so I can’t forecast how many hours I’ll be doing each week, but in our financial situation at the minute, every hour  I work is an improvement on where we’re at so I’m not complaining.

I am wondering… how I will be on my own in the classroom. Gulp…

I am reading… “Thin Air” by Ann Cleeves. I have to admit that I’m struggling with it, which is a shame because I have loved every single one of her previous books, and this series is one of my favourites. This one just isn’t doing it for me I’m afraid.

I am hoping… my book gets better!

I am praying for… my mother and father in law who both have complex health issues and who are both struggling with different forms of dementia; my friend who is having a serious operation on Tuesday; my friend Jane who is halfway through her chemotherapy sessions.

I am looking forward to… seeing my daughter tomorrow as it is her 21st birthday and we’re going to share a meal with her tomorrow night.

I am learning… to just relax and go with the flow.

Around the house… we’ve had a bit of a change round in the house this weekend and moved the computer and desk out of our bedroom into the box room. It has led to a bit of a sort out and clear out in other rooms (including the loft…) and the house is now littered with various boxes of junk waiting to be binned or sold. Sigh…

I am pondering… just hiring a bloody skip and getting rid of the lot!

A favourite quote for today:

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. Martin Luther King, Jr.

One of my favourite things… is reading in bed.

A few plans for the rest of the week: I’m at Stay and Play in the morning then seeing my 21 year old daughter for her birthday meal; I’m going to be working on Thursday and Friday and I will be conducting my band on Friday night.

A peek into my day… (a bit of a cheat because it was yesterday, but I’m sure you’ll forgive me!)

 

Our "belonging" wall from Messy Church yesterday. You can also see in the background the beginnings of our Harvest collection of food to share with the homeless in Manchester.
Our “belonging” wall from Messy Church yesterday. You can also see in the background the beginnings of our Harvest collection of food to share with the homeless in Manchester.

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

3 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 21st September 2014

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

