Daybook Entry – 19th October


FOR TODAY

021114_2314_DaybookEntr1.jpg

Outside my window… the wind is howling, darkness has fallen, leaves are being blown hither and thither and the beautiful earthy smells of Autumn pervade the air. This is my absolute favourite time of the year.

I am thinking… that I was a little bit hard on Ethan this afternoon when I lost my rag with him, but he has responded in the way that has made me proud. And relieved.

I am thankful… that my church family are so forgiving, especially when it comes to misbehaving technology during the service!

In the kitchen… we had home-made broccoli and blue-cheese soup for tea tonight and it was delicious! Sounds a bit strange but so easy to make and extremely tasty. Not only that, but it cost pennies to make too which is a bonus. In fact the most expensive item was the blue cheese which was £1.50 for 150g of Tesco Danish Blue. The rest was bits of veg we already had in so a very economical meal to make and went down VERY well with my boys.

I am wearing… jeans and my yellow polo shirt. Will get my “comfies” on later.

I am creating… loads and loads and LOADS of stuff for my OU course. I posted a short story earlier this week which is a piece I had done in preparation for my first assignment, so if you haven’t had chance to read it please give it a look for me if you would. I’d love to hear your feedback if you don’t mind.

I am going… to put the X-Factor results on shortly. We’re watching the Strictly results now, and recording the other side so we can fast forward the adverts and get to the meat of it within about 15 minutes.

I am wondering… how my lovely Emma is doing on her first assignment for her final year of her law degree. I helped her out with some proofreading this morning and it looks pretty good to me but it’s all about what her tutors want at the end of the day.

IMG-20141017-WA0000
This is Emma last week. Isn’t that a picture a mother can be proud of!

I am reading… I’m still battling my way through “The Detective’s Daughter” from last week. It’s very hard going and I’m so bored with it, but at 76% of the way through I’m not about to give up now, and I want to know whodunit!

I am hoping… that the National Lottery got it wrong and missed a few 00’s off the end of our £9.60 win. Haha!

I am praying for… my mother in law still. She is extremely weak and is unable to sit up or lift her head off the pillow. She is on thickened fluids because of her inability to swallow properly and can’t speak any more. We can understand some of what she’s saying/asking but it is very, very difficult.

I am looking forward to… a bit early maybe, but I’m looking forward to Christmas.

I am learning… that I have more emotional strength than I thought I did.

Around the house… is order and cleanliness. We had a Big Clean yesterday in the living room and we have a lovely room again now. It smells lovely and fresh, and we have a great relaxing space to sit in.

I am pondering… having a stall to sell some of my crotched stuff in the next few weeks. I have got lots of samples of hats, blankets and toys etc and have lots of photos of my stuff so I can demonstrate what I can do and I’d like to sell some stuff, get orders for more and make a little bit of cash.

A favourite quote for today:

Romans 8:38-39 New International Version (NIV)

38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

One of my favourite things… is a proper home-cooked meal.

A few plans for the rest of the week: lots of writing! Some music practice, Stay and Play in the morning, hospital visiting, a bit of cooking, a bit of reading, a bit of gigging….the usual really!

A peek into my day… we came home from the hospital this afternoon to this little lady in the garden. I didn’t notice her before, but this is probably the last rose of summer in our garden and she is lovely.

DSC_0982

 

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

 

2 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 19th October

Add yours

  1. That is one of my favorite verses of Scripture. 😉 And though I don’t like blue cheese, I do like a good broccoli and cheese soup, so that sounds quite tasty too!

    Praying you have a good week!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

