Daybook Entry – 26th October


021114_2314_DaybookEntr1.jpgFOR TODAY
Outside my window… fireworks are going off like bombs. Don’t people know there’s another whole weekend before Bonfire Night yet?!

I am thinking… that the bigger the risk, the harder the decision

I am thankful… I negotiate my way through life with someone who not only knows me inside out but who is my strength to my weakness and weakness to my strength

In the kitchen… cheesy bacon pasta bake today. Two types of cheese, loads of flavour and comfortingly filling. Yummy!

Cheesy Bacon Pasta Bake

Cheesy Bacon Pasta Bake

I am wearing… grey tracksuit bottoms, black t-shirt. I’m feeling like I need to blend in today. Don’t want to stand out.

I am creating… loads of notes and bits of stories and narratives for my course, but coming up with some great ideas for some writing in the future. I just need a bucket-load of determination to get it all written.

I am going… to crack on tomorrow and finish my first assignment for my creative writing course and then concentrate on my music one due in a few days after my writing one.

I am wondering… if I’ll have time to finish the arrangement of “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas” for next band practice…hmmm……

I am reading… “Lamentation” by C J Sansom. (Yes, I finally finished The Detective’s Daughter and no, it wasn’t worth the effort).

I am hoping… that financial decisions this week will be the right ones for us.

I am praying for… the family and friends of Geoff whose funeral it is tomorrow; my mother in law who is still in hospital and very weak; a particular friendship that is undergoing a big change at the minute; my daughter

I am looking forward to… Boxing Day. Yes, yes, I know that sounds a bit odd but for a bander and a churcher, the coming weeks are anticipated to be full on madness in terms of places to be, things to do, concerts to perform, music to write etc. I always get very anxious about now just thinking about the things that are on the calendar and I feel very panicked about my commitments. At this stage, there doesn’t seem to be any gaps in which I can relax and switch off or simply ENJOY things as they happen. I know from experience that in reality things won’t be so jam-packed as all that and there will be opportunities to relax and enjoy the build up to Christmas, but that never helps me and it’s not helping me now. The anticipation of all the busy-ness is making me very anxious and I want to hide away.

I am learning… that if I want to keep my front teeth intact I had better get to the dentist this week. Things are not looking good on the lost filling/broken tooth front.

Around the house… tidy, tidy. (Yeah, in my dreams!)

I am pondering… what outfit to wear for Messy Halloween. I’m scary enough in my day-clothes so don’t want to terrify the kids by dressing up too outrageously!

A favourite quote for today: “Blessed are they who see beautiful things in humble places where other people see nothing.” — Camile Pissarro

One of my favourite things… is the day the clocks go back. I love the change of atmosphere, the change in mood and the cosying in now of the evenings ahead. (I think that is a contributory factor to my feeling of anxiousness, perversely. The fact that I like cosying in during the winter and the full-looking calendar are at odds with each other somewhat.)

A few plans for the rest of the week: Church meeting tomorrow night, possibly going to watch City on Wednesday, Messy Halloween on Friday. Oh and plenty of writing!

A peek into my day…

We cleaned out the aquarium today and gave Terry a bit of a run in the living room. (We sanitised the floor afterwards!). Here are a couple of short clips of him finding his way around the house. The first is where he instinctively heads for the door (didn’t venture through it though, must have been too cold for him) and the second one he is instinctively heading back to his tank. He’s a funny little creature!

 

 

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daybook Entry – 26th October

  1. Pingback: Daybook Entry - 26th October | Christians Anonymous

  2. Sean says:

    The writing is good, but not quite as good as the Cheesy Bacon Pasta.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

