Halloween Hodgepodge


If you’ve answered the questions today, add your link at the end of Joyce’s post (click the badge to find her host site).  Then go say hi to the blogger who linked before you because everybody loves company.  Here we go-


1. My hubs spent last weekend pheasant hunting. Are there hunters in your family? If so, what do they hunt? Which of the following have you tasted-pheasant, rabbit, venison, duck, goose? Which of those would you most like to taste or be most willing to taste?

No, definitely no hunters here! Not many guns generally here in the UK – well, legally anyway – and not many areas where game can be hunted by everyday people. Hunting tends to be the privilege of the aristocracy I’m afraid.

As for tasting those meats, I’ve had duck and would love to try goose and rabbit. Just so long as I don’t have to butcher them!

2. What high spot have you visited that gave you a wonderful ‘bird’s eye view’ of something below?

The highest place I have been to was the CN Tower in Toronto. We were on tour with the music centre band to Canada and America, and we had lunch in the revolving restaurant at the top of the tower. It was a fantastic view, but not as fantastic as the view from the (not quite as tall but equally beautiful) Skylon Tower at Niagara Falls on the same trip.

3. Do you have any birds in your home? These could be either real live pets or decorative, as in prints, fabrics, knickknacks, or pottery.

We have Albert Duck who lives on our fireplace. He has a broken bow-tie that we keep meaning to glue back on, but he’s otherwise solid wood. We bought him many years ago from the Albert Dock in Liverpool, hence his name (original eh?).

Albert Duck
Albert Duck

I crochet owls to give away as gifts. This is the one I made for us to decorate our home, and the one below is one I made for my son’s desk.

Home Owl
Home Owl
Ethan's owl
Ethan’s owl

4. Tell about a time you killed two birds with one stone.

As a woman, I think it’s hard to think of a time when I DON’T kill two birds with one stone. Come on ladies, don’t we all multi-task our way through our everyday lives EVERY DAY? We all do stuff while we’re doing other stuff, don’t we? It’s the way we roll. Loading the washing machine while the kettle is boiling for tea, sweeping the floor while we wait for the iron to heat up, feed the husband while helping kids with homework, etc. Either all that or we’re on our laptops checking Facebook, doing an online shop while watching TV and moaning at the kids to move their shoes/bags etc.

5  Your favourite song with a bird in its title?

When I was born, “Chirpy chirpy cheep cheep” by Middle Of The Road was number 1 in the charts. I guess that one always makes me smile.

6. What most recently gave you goose bumps? 

At band on Friday we ran through a couple of Christmas pieces and I gave Ethan (my son) a quite difficult bass trombone solo to have a go at. He not only played it but he played it well, and as a proud mother (and conductor) it gave me goosebumps to hear him play so beautifully. The solo was Frosty The Snowman and the arrangement we played is in four different styles, four different time signatures, has a long cadenza and covers 4 complete octaves for the soloist. The boy done good and his mama was very proud.

This is a link to a video of the piece performed a few years ago – not my son! – to show you the piece he sightread.

7. Halloween is this Friday…any plans? Did you trick or treat as a child? Carve pumpkins? Share your most memorable costume.

Yes, we’re doing Messy Church at Halloween, and I am not sure whether I’m looking forward to it or dreading it! I’m looking forward to the fun and games with the kids, and I’m looking forward to the “light out of darkness” theme, but I’m dreading it because I’m the co-ordinator and I don’t know that I’ve done a very good job this time.

We didn’t trick or treat as children, nor did we carve pumpkins because they are relatively recent activities to the UK. However, my Dad did carve swedes each year to put candles in which we put in our porch to shine out. We did do the occasional party where we dressed up, and my most memorable costume was when I dressed up as a highwayman, complete with cloak, tricorn hat and face-mask, and I nearly caused a crash as I was walking up the road to the party. Oops!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I really do have to get to the dentist soon. I’ve lost more off my broken back tooth and a bit off the inside of my front tooth today. Trouble is, I’m so terrified of the dentist that I was crying in terror when I rang Kevin to tell him and to ask him to make an appointment for me. That’s not even me ringing the dentist, but asking someone else to ring for me and I was petrified. Not good is it??

 

3 thoughts on “Halloween Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. Quite interesting about hunting in the UK
    I like to eat wild game, but I won’t dress or cook them.
    The closest I came was cooking frog legs once and they started jumping around in the pan…lol
    Or so it looked like it while I was frying them.
    That was the end of that.

    This week’s hodgepodge has been fun learning about different artists and their songs.

    Congratulations to you & your son for the musical performance.

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

