Wednesday Hodgepodge – 12th November


1. We celebrate Veteran’s Day in the US of A on November 11th. When did you last interact with a member of the armed forces (either currently serving or retired)? Have you ever written a letter to a soldier, bought a meal or coffee for a soldier, said an unprompted thank you to a soldier you encountered out and about somewhere? If you’re not in the US, comment on a similar holiday in your own country.

The last time I interacted with a member of the armed forces was my daughter this afternoon! She is in the University Royal Naval Unit (URNU for short) while she is studying for her degree, and we were chatting about all sorts of stuff. I have quite a few friends in the forces too, and we are in contact quite regularly on Facebook etc, and the last time I interacted with retired service personnel was on Sunday, which was our Remembrance Sunday here in the UK.

I haven’t ever written a letter to a soldier or bought a meal or anything like that (apart from my daughter), mainly because our service personnel don’t go around in uniform because of security concerns so it’s difficult to spot them in public. To be honest it’s not something I would do anyway.

2. You can have fifty pounds of anything at all (except money)…what would you choose?

I would love 50lbs of wool to crochet with. I’d make hats and blankets for the special care baby unit at the local hospital, and hats and scarves for a homeless charity. I can’t think of anything I’d like 50lbs of for myself.

3. When did you last receive an invitation in the ‘real’ mail? What was it for and did you attend? When it comes to RSVP-ing, are you an ‘early responder’ or a ‘last minute, barely-under-the-wire’ kind of guest?

I received an invitation a few weeks ago for my cousin Stephen’s wedding at the end of this month. I haven’t responded yet…I’m kind of a “last minute meets almost forget to reply” guest.

4. What’s something you really don’t like to waste?

Time.

5. Cheers, Friends, MASH, Seinfeld…of the ones listed, your favourite long-running sitcom?
Of the ones listed I only watched MASH, so I would go with that. However, my favourite long term sitcom is Frasier.

6. What decision are you glad you made?

Oh so many to choose from!! There are a couple of personal decisions that I made that would be top of the list but as I don’t particularly want to discuss them here, I am going to say the most recent decision that I am glad I made was the decision to continue with my degree. It has been difficult and stressful at times, but I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel and I feel a different person because of it.

7. In this month of ‘Thanksgiving’ what is one thing that’s different today than it was a year ago that you’re grateful for?

This is quite a difficult thing to answer because the past twelve months have been particularly rough and lots of aspects of my life are worse now than they were this time last year. However, I am grateful that I have a study space now even though it means that Emma doesn’t quite have a bedroom she can instantly move back to if ever she needs to. We can convert it back again quite quickly, but for now I am enjoying the space where I can organise myself and study in peace.

8. Random thought:

I got my first assignment mark back this week for my music course and I scored 95%. I am totally gobsmacked!! A lot to live up to for the rest of the course, but it’s a cracking start and I am so pleased. I haven’t received my mark for my creative writing assignment yet and I can’t publish the piece I submitted for it until I do. Watch this space! 95% is a high benchmark but it will be interesting to see how my words match my music ability. #doingthehappydance

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 12th November

  1. jodaley says:

    I don’t think I knew you were back in school, but congrats on the excellent mark! And on continuing your education…it’s a big deal and I know is challenging. Wishing you the best!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you 🙂 It’s two “distance learning” modules I’m doing with the Open University and the idea is that we study in our own time to fit in around work and family etc. It’s very challenging as you can imagine, but I’m fortunate in that I do have a lot of time during the days to study which is why I have taken on two this year instead of the more normal single one. If I pass them both this year (which I think I should) then I will have my degree in June 2015. I can do one more module at level 3 which will then entitle me to use B.A. (Hons) after my name. So excited!

      Like

  2. Lisa B. says:

    I live in the US. On Monday we were able to attend a live feed via the internet at the Tower of London for Remembrance Day. It was absolutely fantastic! Congrats on getting such a great mark on your first music assignment! Great job!

    Like

    • Lisa B. says:

      I’m here from the Wednesday Hodgepodge btw. 🙂

      Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thanks for dropping by Lisa! The art installation at the Tower of London was amazing wasn’t it? So touching and it really brings it home just how many people were killed during WWI. It is being dismantled now, and the poppies have all been sold for charity. At £25 each you can imagine how much money has been raised….wowzers!

      Like

  3. viviellevirgule says:

    Congratulations on your music grade! That’s fantastic!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

