Wednesday Hodgepodge – 26th November


 
1. Besides U.S. Thanksgiving it’s also National Game and Puzzle week…what game have you played most recently, and who were you with? Have you worked a puzzle of any kind in the past week?

I love puzzles and games, and word games are my favourite. I have recently discovered Scrabble on Facebook…watch out world!

2. What is one place you were thankful for this year?

I am so thankful for the holiday time we spent as a family in the Northeast this year. My favourite time and place during that holiday was when Kevin and I got up before sunrise one morning and spent about three hours taking photos and watching the sun come up from Bamburgh beach. A few days later we went back to the same spot on the beach with the kids and while they played with the kite and went paddling in the rock pools I sat on a big rock and sketched Bamburgh Castle. It is a magical place and it was a wonderful time spent there.

3. Take a nap, watch football, go for an after dinner walk, or hit the stores…which ONE is on your must-do list for Thanksgiving day? If you aren’t in the US answer as it relates to any big holiday meal.

Napping!!

4. Besides Thanksgiving, what’s your favourite home cooked meal?

A proper Sunday roast – which here in the UK is a traditional meal of roast meat (pork, beef, lamb or chicken – my favourite is beef) with roast potatoes, peas, carrots, Yorkshire puddings, boiled potatoes, stuffing, gravy…. Delish!

5. What product from an infomercial would you most like to own?

I would have a steam mop. We have lots of uncarpeted floors in my house (laminate flooring and lino mainly) and I love the idea that I can just steam everywhere clean without the use of chemicals.

6. Christmas shopping? Have you begun? Finished? Will you shop on Black Friday? How do you feel about stores opening on Thanksgiving Day? What percentage of your Christmas shopping is done online?

ARGH!!!!!! The whole “Christmas shopping” thing drives me mad. To my mind, Christmas is far too overblown and it has become obscene just how much money people are expected to spend on it. For some reason, this year we seem to be celebrating Black Friday here in the UK. Why? WHY??? As if we need any more invitations to spend money that we don’t have! As for the question of have I started yet, no, I haven’t. Most of my gift shopping will be done online this year as we are on a very tight budget…VERY tight…and it is easier to control spending when it’s clickable and not pickable.

7. What are you most grateful for that adds beauty to your everyday life?

My garden. It isn’t very big, but it is lovely and green and we are visited by birds and squirrels most of the day. I love the colours of the sunshine on it, and I love it when it rains. I love looking at it and I love sitting in it. It is a lovely place and really does add beauty to my everyday life.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I found this video yesterday and thought it was absolutely beautiful. I haven’t heard of the group before, but I am familiar with the song as we used it in our Experience Christmas at church last year. We used the Ceelo Green version, and this is very different. Still just as moving though. It tears at my heartstrings. Let me know what you think.

 

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 26th November

Add yours

  1. I have wondered how folks in the UK…or any other country, for that matter…start the ‘holiday shopping season’ without the designation of the ‘day after Thanksgiving’. Here in the States, I can put off Christmas decor and such with a definite purpose…Thanksgiving first! I don’ t know how I’d manage to wait if I didn’t have that clear mark on the calendar.

    I love ‘Mary, Did You Know’… I think it may be one of the best Christmas songs written in recent times. Love Pentatonix’s version.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments lisalaree, it’s great to hear from you. Here in the UK, the “holiday shopping season” usually doesn’t start until after Remembrance Sunday, which is the Sunday closest to 11th November and it is usually signalled by certain adverts on TV (holidays are comin…holidays are comin!) but this year the “big” ads began earlier than normal. It drives me crackers that it gets earlier and earlier each year, but I think there is a big difference between when the media TELLS us it’s shopping time and when we ACTUALLY start!

      Like

  2. My most favorite Christmas song, and I bought their CD last week. It is great!! I enjoyed your Hodgepodge! Most of us chose roast beef for our favorite meal. I think second most popular is lasagna!

    Like

    1. I hadn’t heard of Pentatonix until I came across this video but wow, I’m impressed with them! I might put word into “Santa” (aka my husband) to see if he might drop their CD into my stocking this year 🙂

      Like

  3. On this day of Thanksgiving here in the states, just wanted to let you know that I am grateful for you and always remembering you in my prayers!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

