Christmas


It has been a hectic roller coaster ride this Advent and I can honestly say that I have arrived at Christmas Eve feeling exhilarated, excited and thoroughly blessed. I have had the privilege to be involved with and serve with the most amazing people in my community and even though things have been tough for us in the family, the love and support of my church family and my friends has meant that I have arrived at this point feeling positive and uplifted. I was touched to receive a beautiful Christmas card from across the pond from my blog-friend in Pennsylvania (thank you!!) and I’m very ashamed that despite my best efforts to be organised and “with it” this year, I have failed to write a single greetings card. (I promise I will try to send you a “blessings for new year card” instead my friend)

Today has been no exception and I have enjoyed a great visit from my best friend this morning, and then my daughter arrived with her partner. I led the Crib Service at my church for the children, which was LOVELY and tonight I will be helping lead worship at the midnight communion service later on. In between, we have had some great food, and some great conversation which is what Christmas with the family is all about for me.

Before Emma left she hung her stocking on the fireplace and put out a mince pie and a glass of brandy for Father Christmas. Just because she’s a) 21 and b) not living here any more doesn’t mean that she doesn’t want him to leave her some presents in a stocking!

wpid-img-20141224-wa0000.jpgShe took these photos just before she left and then sent them to me so I had a reminder too. Isn’t she lovely?!

This is our fireplace tonight, with both stockings up (yes, my 16yr old son also has his up too) and as you can see, Father Christmas hasn’t been yet because his drink and snack are still there. Although, he must be close because we have just dived outside to see his “sleigh” pass overhead. Some people, some clever people, said it wasn’t him at all and it was the ISS, but we know better…!

Christmas 2014 - even though the kids are 21 and 16 their childhood stockings are still up, and there is still a glass of brandy and a mince pie out for Father Christmas. It's nice to know some traditions still live on even though they are all grown up now!
Christmas 2014 – even though the kids are 21 and 16 their childhood stockings are still up, and there is still a glass of brandy and a mince pie out for Father Christmas. It’s nice to know some traditions still live on even though they are all grown up now!

 

Wishing all my readers and followers and friends and supporters here a very Merry Christmas, and a peaceful and blessed holiday.

christmas header

2 thoughts on “Christmas

Add yours

  1. Wow Brandy! We always put Sherry with our mince pies. Mind you that is a damn site better than over here in North America, he only gets milk n cookies! Have a good un Pam et al!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

