Work In Progress


It has been a very productive week so far this week, which is a relief after the hiatus at the end of the year. Don’t get me wrong, I love my family and I have loved spending time over the Christmas and New Year holiday period with them but it has meant that my studies and other workload took a back seat for a little while. That’s no bad thing because we all need time away from routine to refresh and replenish ourselves both spiritually and physically – even God took a day’s rest after working his socks off for a spell! But it’s always nice to get back in the saddle so to speak, and I have really enjoyed getting back into things again this week.

I had dropped the reins on my studies during December a little and the consequence was that I was behind on both my modules, but I have caught up with my Creative Writing module now and even got my assignment in EARLY this week, and I have nearly caught up with my Music too. These photographs show my workstation yesterday:

Double screen (one for the darts, one for the music score!) books, notes, manuscript paper...catching up missed work nicely!
Double screen (one for the darts, one for the music score!) books, notes, manuscript paper…catching up missed work nicely!
Inside Music - degree level harmony, lesson 1
Inside Music – degree level harmony, lesson 1
Where there's tea (and darts) there's hope...
Where there’s tea (and darts) there’s hope… (and codeine and diclofenac)

I wrote a 2500 word short story on Monday as part of my Creative Writing course which needs to be edited and redrafted before I publish it, and I have finished reading a book about what it is to live and work as a parish priest this week. It struck me earlier today that all this busy-ness, all this work, all this creativity and output of work, all this trying to understand how the world works and the mechanics of how music works, all the striving for improvement and the search for knowledge and understanding just goes to show that I am still a work in progress.

At my age, when other people seem to have their lives sewn up and sorted out, I still feel like I am not made it there yet. I know God has a plan for me, and that is the thing that keeps me going through all of this.Β I feel that all the disparate bits of my life are slowly coming together and that things are on brink of being useful. All I can say is that I am enjoying being a work in progress. It’s rather nice knowing that I’m not a complete job yet!

 

3 thoughts on “Work In Progress

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

