It’s Official


Oh dear, my sore throat has been confirmed as being an infection today. I couldn’t get in to see my GP so went to the Walk-In Centre in Middleton and saw a doctor there. She took my pulse and my temperature, felt the glands in my neck (ouch ouch OUCH!!) and looked in my mouth.

It was so swollen she couldn’t see properly, and her exclamation of “wow!” wasn’t exactly reassuring. She said it was the worst she had seen so far this winter. I was a bit worried and asked her should I have gone sooner, but she was fab and told me that so far I had done the right thing by trying to treat it myself. She explained that in its early stages, there is no difference between a viral and a bacterial infection and I wouldn’t be given antibiotics until the pus had appeared.

I suspect that I have been at that stage since yesterday but it was through the night last night where things stepped up a gear and every time I lay down I was choking on it, which prompted my decision to see a doctor today.

So, I’ve been given a 10 day course of penicillin, which I have to take 2 tablets four times a day – deep infection!  – and she said to keep up with my other self -help stuff too. Here is a photo that represents my afternoon

image

All that’s missing is the snooker and my blanket but you get the drift!!

Lessons learned and blessings received:

1. Trust your instincts. You’ll know when you need medical intervention.

2. I have some terrific mates on Facebook who have been really helpful with advice for helping with the pain.

3. Terrapins don’t like being woken up at 5am; it confuses them when you put the light on.

4. My dressing gown doubles up as an arctic polar fleece and is GREAT when you’re feeling mard in the early hours.

5. The no-nonsense doctor at the Middleton Walk In Centre was terrific. Humorous yet reassuring, which is just what I needed this morning.

Hopefully the news will be more cheerful in a couple of days. I’ll keep you posted.

Thanks to all of you for your kind comments both here and Facebook. It’s lovely to know you’re out there thinking of me this week when I’ve been feeling so poorly.

4 thoughts on “It’s Official

Add yours

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

