Wednesday Hodgepodge


Thank you Joyce for your questions this week. You gave me some things to think about! 
1. American Idol is back for its 14th season. Are you watching? Have you ever watched? If you were to audition for the show (or were made to audition), what song would you sing?

I won’t be watching. We do get it over here in the UK but I can’t just muster up the enthusiasm for a load over under-talented, over-hyped acts (and the contestants) on the programme. It’s not just American Idol, it’s all the others too: The Voice, X Factor, Pop Idol, Britain (or America)’s Got Talent…urgh… they are all the same to me now and I can’t be doing with any of it.

To answer the second part of the question, I couldn’t EVER see me auditioning for any show like this (I don’t even do karaoke), but if it was a case of having to, I would sing  rocky like River Deep Mountain High. That’s because nobody would be able to tell I can’t sing in tune!

2. Mark Twain is quoted as saying, “If it’s your job to eat a frog, it’s best to do it first thing in the morning. And if it’s your job to eat two frogs, it’s best to eat the biggest one first.” 

So when did you last have to ‘eat a frog?’ Or two? How’d that work out?

Good question. I recently got behind with my studies (December being one mad month with no time for studying at home) and I had two units and an assignment to finish off for 9th January. The biggest one was writing a 2200 word short story for the assignment, and the way I tackled it was to give myself a very tight timeframe in which to work. It worked because as I had such a narrow window of time available I couldn’t indulge in any of my usual faffing about on the internet and so I broke the back of it in that first sitting, and then because the bulk of it was done it was less daunting to come back to to finish off and to edit/polish etc.

3. If you were going on safari, what’s the number one animal you’d want to see?

I am in awe of big cats, so I would love to see a lion or a tiger. I happened to be standing by the side of a lion enclosure at a nature centre a few years ago when one of the lions decided to exercise his lungs and roared so loudly that the whole area shook. It was amazing yet fearsome yet awesome yet humbling all at the same time and I would love to experience that in the wild. From behind a big barrier.

4. January 21st is National Granola Bar Day. I know. Do you like granola bars? Chewy or crunchy? Your favourite flavour? How about regular granola? Let’s exhaust this topic in honour of the ‘holiday’, okay?

I do like them, and I have them when I can’t tolerate other food. So when my offal is having a bad turn and I can’t keep anything down or everything tastes like salt-water, granola bars are a handy standby to have in the cupboard. I don’t mind either chewy or crunchy.

5. If only__________________________________.

People didn’t get so worked up about being “offended”, especially being “offended” on other people’s behalf and without their consent.

6. You can add one item to your bedroom. What will it be? Keep it family friendly please.

I would like a new set of bedding. We haven’t bought new for more than 15 years now and even though we cycle them and have some “winter” and “summer” covers, they are getting a bit threadbare and faded now. So yes, a new set of bed sheets, pillow cases and duvet cover would be nice.

7. What is one thing you’ve enjoyed about winter thus far? If it’s not winter in your corner of the globe, what season is it, and what is something you’ve enjoyed about whatever season it happens to be?

Not sure about “enjoyed” but I have been appreciative of it being a very mild winter so far this year. We have not had to have the heating on as much as we have had to in the past, and the cost-savings are very much appreciated.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Laugh-when-you-canApologize-when-you-should1

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. 1. Or anything by Janis Joplin – even my wonky throat could carry that off!
    5. 100% agree here The meaning of the word has changed radically I think. If you “offend” me you have said something which has hurt me to the core not just something which I mildly disagree with. This flip use of a word … I find offensive. :-b
    6. A fire mans pole or a slide to the kitchen. Oo oo Wallace and Grommitts Wake Up Machine.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

