Daybook Entry – 26th January 2015


021114_2314_DaybookEntr1.jpgFOR TODAY

Outside my window… there is an Arctic front making itself felt. The sky is clear and is that gorgeous blue-black colour that makes me think of the Arabian Nights. But this is Manchester and the Arabian Nights are about as likely here as a night without emergency sirens or an appearance by the police helicopter.

I am thinking… that it has been an auspicious day today. A day that will go down in history for the Church of England in that our very first female bishop was consecrated today (for full details – including the lone protester – click here to read all about it on the BBC website). It is also my son’s 16th birthday too, and my thoughts have been on that day 16 years ago when I welcomed him into the world.

I am thankful… that my son has turned out to be such a well-balanced, thoughtful and kind young man. He has been through a lot in his childhood and sometimes when I look at him I shake my head in wonder that he’s made it thus far.

In the kitchen… we ate out tonight in honour of Ethan’s birthday and we currently have a couple of slices of left-over pizza from Pizza Hut sitting in our fridge.

I am wearing… jim jams. Comfy Pamster!

I am creating… a blanket/throw for our caravan or settee. I have done loads of other blankets for other people and I have decided to make one for us now. I am trying out a new design with bigger blocks than I would usually make, and I am mixing and matching the patterns within a 5-colour palette. I might post a couple of photos soon when there’s something to show you, but I am enjoying a rather leisurely pace with this one and I don’t mind if it takes quite a while.

I am going… to work very hard tomorrow on the poetry section of my OU work. The unit has been pretty dull so far and I think I might be missing something, so I am going to give it my full attention tomorrow and see how that makes a difference.

I am wondering… how long it is before I give in and resort to “The Ode Less Travelled” by Stephen Fry instead.

I am reading… I’ve got a couple of things on the go at the minute but not a novel just now. I can’t make up my mind if I’m in a crime-thriller or a historical or a romance or a chick-lit kind of mood so can’t settle on anything. I just finished reading “An Absent Mind” by Eric Hill, which is a story told from several points of view about a man who has Alzheimer’s Disease, and it has left its mark on me. I’m not in a hurry to erase those feelings and thoughts it has stirred up just yet.

I am praying for… some guidance about my pathway ahead; my Dad who is recovering from a small procedure; my friend’s little girl who has to have a serious and extensive operation in the coming weeks; my mother-in-law who is defying medical understanding and surviving against all expectations.

I am hoping… I have understood my latest music assignment properly – I have handed it in today (two days early) and it all seemed suspiciously straightforward. Oh dear…

I am looking forward to… going swimming on Saturday morning. Kevin and I have been promising ourselves that we would make the effort to look after ourselves a bit better this year and we are going to take the opportunity while Ethan is in Music Centre on a Saturday morning to go swimming, but so far, we have had other commitments so this weekend is our first chance to go. Eek! I hope my cozzie still fits.

I am learning… that modern poetry isn’t really my cup of tea. In fact, it’s more like a drink of water – far better with something of substance in it!

Around the house… we have quite a few things up for sale on ebay just now so we have them lying around in various stages of packaging and labelling. Apart from that things are pretty much under control.

I am pondering… the content and theme of my next sermon. I am preaching on 8th February and I know the verses we will be reading on that day already, so I am in the pre-planning prayer stage of pondering what to say.

A favourite quote for today…

you are confined

One of my favourite things… is spending time with my family.

A few plans for the rest of the week: this week will mostly be studying and writing. As I mentioned, I have a sermon to prepare for next Sunday and I am currently up to date with my OU work on both modules but I would like to try and get ahead while I can. I am loving the music module and I can feel a composition brewing. It might even get coupled with some of the poetry work I am doing and if it ends up as part of worship in church then I’ll be a very happy girl!

A peek into my day…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Thank you for dropping by the Daybook today.

3 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 26th January 2015

Add yours

  1. Happy belated birthday to Ethan!

    This made me smile: “that modern poetry isn’t really my cup of tea. In fact, it’s more like a drink of water – far better with something of substance in it!”

    I completely agree! I have a book called something like “100 Beloved Poems” and I much prefer the older ones!

    Hope your week is going well!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

