Chilly Hodgepodge


Okay, here we go…answer the questions on your own blog, then add your link at the end of Joyce’s post by clicking the button below. Be sure to say hi to the blogger who linked before you, because this is one place where traffic is fun!  Here are my answers-1.  When did someone last suggest you ‘chill out’? Or, when did you last tell someone (or want to tell someone) to ‘chill out’? Or, when did you last tell yourself to ‘chill out’?

On the way home with Ethan earlier on today, we were chatting about how much he’s got on his plate at the minute with various band commitments, sport commitments on top of revision and exam prep. I told him he needed to learn how to “chill out” when he has the chance.

2. What most recently caused your heart to melt?

My little dude Lucas putting his arms up for me to pick him up on Monday morning. Love that kiddo!

3. “An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered.” G.K. Chesterton

Your thoughts? When did you last experience either an adventure or an inconvenience? How did you see it at first, as an adventure or an inconvenience?  Does it feel the same in hindsight?

I have been highly inconvenienced by a throat infection recently which has totally floored me for the best part of two weeks and has knocked the stuffing right out of me. I have missed so many things because of it, and I still feel shaky about leaving the house. And no Mr Chesterton, it has not been an adventure no matter how I consider it!

4. A Wendy’s Frosty, root beer in a frosty mug, or a frosted chocolate cupcake…of these three, which one is your favourite ‘frosty’ treat?

None of the above! I’ve no clue what a Wendy’s Frosty is, root beer just tastes like mouthwash, and frosting on cupcakes makes me high so I avoid it at all costs. My favourite frosty anything is Iced Gems.

5. Would you say your life so far this year has been more like a circus or a symphony? Explain why.

I think my year so far has been a combination of circus, and orchestra-doing-their-warm-up-routine before the symphony starts. It has been a riot of different things that have distracted me from what I want/need to do and there has been this backdrop of discordant dissonance to it all. Not necessarily the best start so far!

6. Since it’s a ‘snow day’ here, what’s your favourite song containing the word ‘white’?

I have to admit to googling this one for a short-list! My top three would be Ride a White Swan by T-Rex, Nights in White Satin by the Moody Blues and Cherry Pink and Apple Blossom White as played by Eddie Calvert.

7. If you had to leave the city you currently live in, what would you find hardest to leave behind?

Might sound cheesy, but I would find it hard to leave behind all the lovely people who share my life at St Paul’s whether that is the “church”, “Stay and Play” or “Messy Church” friends and family.

8. Random thought for the day:

Is it me or are people becoming less capable of doing even the simplest things? Such as decide for yourself whether the weather is not safe to go out in, or how to treat a sore throat and fever without clogging up the NHS services? It strikes me that good old-fashioned common sense has really taken a beating in recent years and we have become a nation of scaredy-cats.

The media don’t help us – yellow and amber warnings for 2cm of snow. 2cm? Isn’t that like, less than half an inch? Which at that depth will probably thaw before it has chance to settle and therefore won’t be that much of a problem? Yet, people prepare themselves for the “amber” bit of the warning and not the realistic “2cm” bit. Excuses are made to cancel obligations and commitments “because of the weather”, schools are closed, roads suddenly become open territory for poor driving and selfish drivers… the list goes on and I’m sure you will be able to add your own.

Remember when Buddy the Elf goes bananas when he hears that Santa is going to be visiting the store the next day? That’s what the weathermen and news readers are like at the minute – SNOW!!! SNOW DAY!!!! OMG WE’RE GONNA HAVE SSSSSNNNNNNOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWW!!!!!! Whilst jumping up and down like over-excited toddlers with their hands in the Skittles jar.

Come on people. Be a bit more grown up about it and have some common sense. You know it’s going to be cold. And wet. And maybe some hail or even a bit of sleet. And that’s because it’s JANUARY. January is like that.

And health-care. There’s another one. People used to be able to self-medicate quite happily when they got sick. Paracetamol, plenty of fluids, stay wrapped up warm and rest were all the guidance required to nurse yourself through a whole plethora of illnesses from chicken pox to the flu. But old-fashioned remedies like honey and lemon have been all but forgotten and people flock to the doctor’s surgeries with their germs to be told exactly what people have known for generations: “we can’t give antibiotics for a virus. Go home and stay warm, drink plenty of fluids and take paracetamol to keep the pain and temperature under control”. And that’s if you can get into a surgery in the first place. Those that can’t (ironically because most appointments are taken up with similar complaints) go to the walk-in centres and receive the same advice. Why can’t people just use their noggins and stay at home and look after themselves?

Sorry. It has turned into a bit of a rant, but to me the two things recently that have driven me up the wall (the warnings about the weather and the NHS constantly in the news for “failing targets”) seem to be driven, if not caused, by the same sort of common-sense-ectomy. That and the hyped-up media who are not satisfied unless the news anchor is wetting himself because of the prospect of SNOW!!!!!!! And the Twitterarchy, who re-peddle all the hype, are just as much to blame. It’s as if we have forgotten how to be adults and are a nation of wet behind the ears teenagers who have never experienced the change of seasons before.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chilly Hodgepodge

  1. viviellevirgule says:

    Agreed on the common sense. Take a look at NYC cancelling everything the day before. Granted it looked like it was going to be bad, but even so, you wait until it actually starts snowing to make those sorts of decisions and ordering people off the roads before it even starts snowing? Crazy! (Of course, I say this living in the place where we get snow almost every day in winter so it’s no big deal to us.)

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      I’m glad to see it’s not just us here in the UK that cry before we’re hurt! Crikey, I don’t know what people in Norway or Canada think about us and our aversion to snow. Mich, you have seen it from both sides. If you see this comment of love to hear your view!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

