10 Interesting Things…Weather


As weather seems to be a hot topic at the minute (haha!), here are 10 facts you may or may not know about it:

1. The world’s first weather map was published in The Times on 1st April 1875. It gave the weather for the previous day.

weather map

2. Handschuschneeballwerfer is German slang for “coward”. It means someone who wears gloves to throw snowballs.

gloves to throw snow

3. Two thirds of the world’s population have never seen snow.

4. A williwaw is a sudden gust of wind coming off a high plateau.

5. South East England has a lower annual rainfall than Jerusalem or Beirut.

6. The Turkish for “ski” is kayak.

7. The speed of the wind has fallen by 60% in the last 30 years.

wind speed

8. The pleasant smell of earth after rain is caused by bacteria in the soil and is called petrichor – from Greek petros “stone” and ichor, “The fluid that flows through the veins of the gods”.

9. Because there is no weather on the moon, the footprints of the 12 men who walked on it are still there.

moon

10. The average person in the UK talks about the weather 44 times a month to 18 other people.

brit weather

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Ten Things and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 Interesting Things…Weather

  1. Fascinating! I especially like 2 and 3 amazes me.

    Speaking of the weather, I’m writing this on a snowy morning where it’s 3 F/ -16 C with light snow falling and a wind chill of -10 F/ -23 C. Took a nice long walk this morning – very invigorating! – but am glad to be inside now with a nice cup of tea. 😉

    Like

  2. dderbydave says:

    Interesting that someone has time to compile these facts about how many times to how many people. Given the job I’d probably make it up.

    97% of statistics are made up you know.

    Not really, I just made that up.

    🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

