Hyacinths – My Favourite!


I went to Bury market today. My primary aim was to get some wool from the wool stall because I have been asked to make a couple of blankets and needed some particular colours. If you saw my wool stash then you’d laugh thinking that surely there must be enough in there already, but no, you’d be wrong. There is never enough wool in a wool stash. Any crafter will tell you that!

On the way to the wool stall I passed a little stall selling plants and flowers. I don’t usually give them a second glance to be honest – green fingers are not one of my strong points! – but they had a big display of my absolute favourite plants and I had to buy some. You will have guessed from the title of this piece that my favourite plants, especially at this time of the year, are hyacinths. I love the fact that they always seem to thrive with very little sustenance and they are happy simply to sit on top of the soil and get on with it. They don’t need much TLC (good job if they’re in my care…) and they give off the most amazing perfume as they reach maturity, which I love.

I bought these three little plants. They don’t look much do they?

hyacinths

But they will soon my filling my house with their lovely colours and scents. I have picked a blue one, a purple one and a white one. The man told me that the colour of the pots shows the colour of the flower…but I have my doubts. I’m sure I asked him for a pink one instead of a purple one but hey ho, let’s see what grows in the next couple of weeks! They only cost me £1 for the three of them. The bargain of the day if you ask me.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hyacinths – My Favourite!

Add yours

  1. Bury Market-the home of Black Puddings! I have childhood memories of that place, the overpowering smell of the fish stalls, and while my Mum was buying something my Dad and I would go looking at a stall of military items.

    Like

  2. Enjoy the flowers. 😉 This is the time of the year when I have to just not look at the flowers for sale in the grocery stores or I’d buy them all!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

