Daybook Entry – 9th February 2015


021114_2314_DaybookEntr1.jpgFOR TODAY

Outside my window… spring flowers are dozing quietly beneath their earthy blankets. Morning will bring more sunshine to wake them from their winter slumbering and I can’t wait to see the welcome return of the daffodils in my garden. Apart from that, it’s dark, misty, moist and cold.

I am thinking… that this poetry module is working its way into my brain at last!

I am thankful… for my husband doing some shopping earlier this evening. We have food in the house now yay! (I think it is also fair to say that I am extremely thankful for him earning the money to go and buy some food in the first place. He certainly takes his “for richer for poorer” vow very seriously and I am thankful for that too).

In the kitchen… ah, this is a tricky one today. I have eaten 2 slices of toast at playgroup this morning, a cheese and beetroot sandwich made for me by my mum at about noon and two slices of toast for my tea at about 6 o’clock today. I also had a slice of cake with a cup of tea at a meeting tonight which was delish. Yes, I’m very grateful for the food shopping my husband was able to do today.

I am wearing… jim jams – it’s time for bed shortly.

I am creating… a blanket for the house which is shaping up nicely and providing some welcome stress relief for me in the process and I am designing another one for a friend at church who has asked for one in a specific colour scheme. I’m glad it’s coming up to Spring because I don’t think I could crochet a blanket in lemon, yellow and white if it was Autumn somehow.

I am going… to spend the day studying tomorrow.

I am praying… for my mother in law. We had a multi-agency meeting this afternoon to discuss her medical and nursing care needs and to decide what is going to be the best care for her next. She is a very poorly lady and is surviving despite complex life-threatening conditions, which are now more serious for her than the Parkinson’s Disease that she has been suffering with for more than 20 years.

I am wondering… how much she understands of what is happening to her just now. She is mostly asleep but even when she is “awake” it is difficult to communicate with her so it’s difficult to know what she knows of things around her.

I am hoping… there will be a place for her at the Alexian Brothers nursing home nearby. They have a fantastic reputation for nursing care and I personally feel it will be a lovely place for her to spend her last months or weeks.

I am reading… “Stolen” by Rebecca Muddiman

I am looking forward to… getting my Inside Music assignment mark tomorrow. I really enjoyed doing it and I just hope I get a good mark for it. I’ll let you know.

I am learning… lots about how to put together a melody and harmonisation effectively, and I am building my confidence in composition skills.

Around the house… I have a teenager draped over a computer keyboard, a husband draped over another computer keyboard and various items of clothing draped over radiators drying for morning. You could say it’s a drapey house tonight.

I am pondering… how to lead the services on Sunday morning at my churches. We are down to do a Morning Service at both of them, and I would like to do something a bit different but I’m not sure what or how yet. I’ll give it some more thought tomorrow and will ask advice from someone before I decide.

A favourite quote for today… “If people made it, people can undo it” in relation to poverty.

One of my favourite things… is hugging my children. Even at the ages of 21 and 16 giving them a hug (and in the case of my son being hugged by them) is one of the best things in the world.

A few plans for the rest of the week: studying tomorrow, prayer meeting on Wednesday evening, study group on Thursday evening, band practice on Friday evening. I’ll be throwing in a bit of crocheting and lots of reading in there too no doubt.

A peek into my day…

This was Stay and Play this morning just after we opened the doors. It was a hugely successful morning today with over 30 toddlers enjoying their time together - even though it did include me doing some singing with them at the end!

This was Stay and Play this morning just after we opened the doors. It was a hugely successful morning today with over 30 toddlers enjoying their time together – even though it did include me doing some singing with them at the end!

 

If you would like to participate in this meme, please hop over to The Simple Woman’s Daybook for instructions on how to join in.

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daybook Entry – 9th February 2015

  1. Pingback: Daybook Entry - 9th February 2015 | Christians Anonymous

  2. Nita says:

    Nice to meet you this morning! Are you taking a poetry class? Popping in from the Simple Woman linky party 🙂

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Hi Nita – I am doing a distance learning module with the Open University for creative writing, and the part I’m at just now is the poetry bit. I’m struggling with it a bit really but what’s life without challenge?! Thank you for dropping by 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

