Wednesday Hodgepodge – 25th February


1. Did you watch The Oscars? How many of the Best Picture nominees have you seen? (American Sniper, Birdman, Boyhood, Selma, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game, The Theory of Everything, and Whiplash)

Do you think actors should use their acceptance speeches as an opportunity to promote their political and/or social agenda? Does that sort of speech make you more or less inclined to change the channel?

I haven’t watched any of those movies and to be honest, the only one that strikes any chord of interest for me is “The Grand Budapest Hotel”. The others don’t look like anything I would enjoy.

I don’t think actors should use their acceptance speeches for promotion of any agenda. They are given the opportunity to thank all those who have helped them get where they are and to maybe dedicate the honours to the memory of someone, but politics and social agendas should not be spouted from the podium in my opinion. If they want to do that, then do it like other people do it and put their effort into it and get out there and DO something.

Incidentally, “Whiplash” is going to be one of those movies that would probably touch me personally which is why I wouldn’t go and see it. It is about the abuse of students at a music conservatoire by a particular teacher and it is too close to home for it to be “entertainment” for me. I have witnessed similar practices throughout my musical life and it’s not something I wish to revisit.

2. Speaking of the movies…are you comfortable going to a movie alone? How about dinner in a restaurant (not fast food, but an actual restaurant)? The second half of this question was posed by Carrie who blogs over at It’s Not Easy Being Queen.Thanks Carrie!

I would be comfortable going to a movie alone, but as I am not really a big movie fan it would have to be a spectacular movie (and one that hasn’t been hyped up) for me to go and see it either alone or with someone else. Dinner in a restaurant…hmm…yes I would feel uncomfortable doing that.

3. What’s the last home repair or home improvement project you had to pay someone to complete? In hindsight was this a project you could have done yourself?

We tend to do most DIY projects round the house but the last time we paid someone was when we had the landing and stairs carpet fitted before Christmas. Even with hindsight I admit that it’s not something that we could have done ourselves.

4. Have you ever had Indian food? Like it or no? If you’re a fan, what’s your favourite dish? Have you ever prepared this yourself at home? Is there an Indian restaurant in your current hometown?

Love it!! I could swing a golf club and probably hit upwards of a dozen Indian places near my house and near my where my son will be going to college in September in an area of Manchester there is what is affectionately called “The Curry Mile”. It’s a stretch of road where literally every single building along it is an Indian restaurant or take away and the smell is divine. I have prepared my own too, which is a lovely thing to do, although I am not good at things like the side dishes and snacks. My favourite is Lamb Rogan Josh, or Lamb/Chicken Bhuna. Coincidentally I had a craving for Biryani for tea tonight. This is a craving that has yet to be satisfied, so watch this space!

5. A song that reminds you of your parents?

Anything by Frankie Valli and I have no idea why!

6. The 26th of February is National Tell a Fairy Tale Day. What’s your favorite, or one of your favorite, fairy tales? Do you have any childhood memories associated with aparticular fairy tale?

I LOVE fairytales and I have got many happy memories of having them read to me or reading them myself when I was a child. My Dad used to read to me most nights and we worked our way through anthology after anthology of fairy-tales and other children’s stories before we moved onto the meatier stuff like Charlotte’s Web and The Peppermint Pig. My favourite ones generally were the ones where my Dad did the voices (pretty much most of them!) and my favourite was The Tinderbox, which is a story about a soldier who tries to reach the princess and has to go past a series of guard dogs. Each successive dog had eyes that got bigger and bigger – the first had eyes the size of tea cups, the next had eyes as big as saucers and so on until the final one that had eyes as big as dinner plates – and that’s all I can remember about it without looking it up, but I remember asking my Dad to read that one several times over.

7. What’s a problem you solved yesterday?

I’m not sure I solved a problem exactly yesterday, but I did tackle one and that’s getting my son to do some revision for his upcoming exams. I have been gently reminding him since this time last year about the need for revision, and recently I’ve stepped it up from “mild nagging” to “outright riding his back” about it. I ended up sitting down next to him and doing some Physics and PE revision with him to make sure he did something last night. Go on, ask me anything about the pyramid of participation in sport then!

8. Random thought for the day:

How can 16 year old boys sit for hours playing stupid car chase games but struggle to concentrate longer than 10 seconds on school work?

 

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

