Lamb Tikka Masala


Today’s deliciousness, courtesy of the leftovers from yesterday’s roast dinner and a lovely hot brew with which to wash it down.. DSC_1974

 

I did a leg of lamb for dinner yesterday and we had it with roast potatoes (all gone), carrots (also all gone) and broccoli (some left). I felt a bit rash splurging out on a big joint but as it fed 5 yesterday, 3 today and more left for tomorrow, I don’t feel that guilty after all.

This curry was made from some of the lamb and the rest of a jar of curry sauce I used last weekend when I made a chicken biryani, and we had it with the leftover broccoli and some home-made pilau rice. Very nice!

In case you’re wondering how I did it and how much it cost:

Leg of lamb – £8 (8 servings so £1 per serving)
Carrots – 49p (5 servings so approx 10p per serving)
Broccoli – 98p (8 servings so 11p per serving)
Potatoes – £1.50 (5 servings so 30p per serving)
Tin of tomatoes – 50p (bulk buy. 3 servings so approx 18p per serving)
Half jar of curry paste – 64p (3 servings so 21p per serving)
Onion – 16p (3 servings so 5p per serving)
Rice – (bulk buy approx 15p so 5p per serving)

Two day’s worth of decent food at a grand cost of around £2.50 per head. Not bad on the economic front, delicious on the taste front and priceless on the sharing and companionship front too. Happy Pamster.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Pam's Pantry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

