D is for Daffodils


image

 

Daffodils are my favourite at this time of the year. They are so cheerful and colourful and they represent an honesty and a freshness that is characteristic of Spring.

Their bright yellow colour is a welcome and blessed relief after the drab brown and grey of winter. They have been adopted as the national flower of Wales, and whenever I hear the Welsh national anthem I think of daffodils.

imageI also remember my uncle David when I see daffodils growing in the grass verges. He died in the spring and when we walked to the village church for his funeral the verges were a riot of yellow. It was just after St David’s day too and even though the day was a sad one, the sight of the gorgeous yellow trumpets was a reminder of new hope and new beginnings.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in A-Z April 2015, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to D is for Daffodils

  1. rogershipp says:

    Daffodils are my favorites to signal the coming of spring.

    Like

  2. They really are the brightest and best, WHAT a fun post!!!! Love the DISNEY outfitted Dog #Blogging from A-Z swinging by to meet and greet. I am 456 & 457 in the long list, with MOVIES & What’s in a NAME Hope you swing by to 4covert2overt and Defining Ways. Hope to meet up everywhere @M_C_V_Egan
    http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/
    http://mariacatalinaegan.com/
    .⋱ ⋮ ⋰.,;***;,.⋱ ⋮ ⋰
    ⋯¤♥¤⋯.(^_^)⋯¤♥¤⋯

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

